How College Students are Handling COVID-19

Delanee Wilson
JOUR3190
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2020

By Delanee Wilson

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought the lives of people of all ages and status to an indefinite halt. College students, in particular, are finding it hard to cope with the uncertainty and sudden change.

As the nationwide risk began to intensify, many colleges modified their spring semesters in effort to reduce the spread of the coronavirus and maintain the safety of their students and staff. On March 16, the University of Georgia followed suit, announcing their transition to online learning for the remainder of the semester.

Riley Jones, a third-year English education major at UGA, says he has “always been more of an in-person learner.” He describes the transition to online learning as “one of the hardest adaptations he’s had to face.”

“After a few weeks of online school, I can confidently say that I prefer person-to-person instruction. I feel as if I took that aspect of my life for granted,” says second-year STEM student Alex Seymour.

Not only has the pandemic put in-person activities on pause, but it has begun impacting the mental health of individuals everywhere. According to a New Yorker report, 78% of people contacting Crisis Text Line, a global non-profit providing confidential crisis intervention, have been experiencing anxiety, which is more than double the rate seen before the pandemic. Teens and young adults are often susceptible to mental health issues, so the added weight of isolation could have a large impact on the age group.

Bella Savignano, a first-year business student, says the lack of routine is definitely taking a toll on her mental health.

“I miss the little things like going out for coffee, visiting my friends at work, and volunteering at the animal shelter,” she said. “I feel trapped, honestly, and there’s nothing I can do about it.”

Seymour agrees that the additional free time is a lot to handle.

“I’m going stir crazy, to say the least. Although I know social distancing is what’s best for our country right now, I can’t say it’s the easiest thing to do,” says Seymour. “It’s given me too much time to dwell on our condition, which often sends me into a panic.”

While the situation at hand is certainly taking a toll on college students, many of them continue to follow CDC guidelines and practice social distancing in hopes that it will help reduce quarantine lengths.

“I’m responding to the COVID-19 crisis by following government recommendations as best as I can. I have had no contact with anyone outside of my family since the shelter in place law was put into effect,” says Seymour. “It’s tough, of course, but I’m really trying to do my part so I can return to my normal life.”

According to Jones, there’s still a light to be found at the end of the tunnel.

“Knowing that I’m actively helping fix the problem just by staying home is getting me through. It gives me a little bit of hope among the uncertainty,” he said.

--

--