Q+A Abby Jordan

Stephanie Duclos
JOUR3190
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2020

By Stephanie Duclos

Abby Jordan always knew she wanted to end up at the University of Georgia supporting the dawgs and following in the footsteps of her father. She loved the school spirit and fun environment UGA provided and knew she had a bright future repping the red and black.

After she graduated from Fellowship Christian High School in Roswell, Georgia, Abby wanted to get adjusted to the college life in a small environment. She decided to attend Georgia College and State University for her first two years. As she studied communications there, she saw the vast opportunity the career path offered and knew thats what she wanted to pursue. She then transferred to the University of Georgia and began her journey in Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communications, studying public relations.

Along with the opportunity a public relations degree provides, Abby’s passion for being creative and organized is why she knew this path was for her. She hopes that her Grady degree will lead her to her dream job, event planning. She has an eye for design, loves to organize vast logistics and has a knack for communications in general.

Outside of school, Abby loves hanging with friends and watching Grey’s Anatomy. She’s obsessed with chocolate and has an extensive music taste as well. She also enjoys being a “bat girl” for the UGA baseball team. Abby is hopeful for the future at UGA and Grady, but the only thing she knows for sure is that she wants a lot of dogs!

Stephanie Duclos

Did you always know that you wanted to be in PR or did you kind of go back and forth with your major?

Abby Jordan

I always wanted to be in COMM at GCSU, so I got some exposure to it in the classes I took. It was basically one exactly like this, so I don’t really know why I have to take this class, but having that exposure to journalism, marketing and all the big fields of communications and I just like PR the best so that’s kind of how I settled on it. I didn’t pick my major until I guess it was my second semester freshman year, or sophomore year.

Duclos

Yeah, I can agree with that, thats awesome. What’s the best part of UGA for you?

Jordan

I like the environment. It’s a big SEC school, lots of spirit. I’ve never really had that at my old school or in high school so that’s a nice change.

Duclos

Okay, cool. So, what strengths or weaknesses do you think led you to PR or Grady.

Jordan

Just strengths and weaknesses in general or, like specifically?

Duclos

Yeah biggest strengths or weaknesses in general personality wise if you’re more of an extrovert or writing person.

Jordan

My strengths are that I’m very creative, like in thought not really and actually doing something like I can come up with ideas but I can’t really like execute them about make sense so yeah that could be a weakness, and then my other weakness is very poor time management i’m so bad like I have so much stuff to do. I cannot be punctual, no matter what.

Duclos

What factors specifically lead you towards your choice creating? What specific things about PR or the PR career are you like, “Okay, I could really see myself doing this.”

Jordan

I like that’s kind of broad, there’s a ton of things I could do with it. What I really want to do is I want to do an event planning eventually, like in either sports or entertainment so there’s a way for me to get there but there’s also like other opportunities that I can have with a PR degree.

Duclos

Any hobbies or involvement outside of school?

Jordan

I like to hang out with friends and my roommates and stuff. And then, as far as involvement I did homecoming committee in the fall of last year and then I’m a bat girl for the baseball team.

--

--