Q+A: Ballard Ackaway

Gianna Perani
JOUR3190
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2020

By Gianna Perani

Before the hour and 14 minute drive to Athens, Ballard Ackaway packs up his passion for journalism and brings it to the University of Georgia.

He carried this with him when he decided he wanted to start shadowing the University of Georgia Athletic Department. Luckily, Ackaway received some great advice from a mentor and knew that he didn’t want to live a mediocre life in the future. He decided he wanted to start getting some experience under his belt.

Ackaway can now be seen walking the halls of the Grady College of Journalism. He chose journalism so he wouldn’t be stuck behind a desk “crunching numbers,”. Ackaway has big goals for his future such as working for a national sports organization.

“I also enjoy writing so I would have to do something on ESPN or something like that would probably be my dream job,” said Ackaway.

Ackaway has taken delight in the world of sports in many ways. From shadowing the UGA Athletic Department to playing golf in high school to joining a softball team in college. “I just always have been into sports because I feel like that’s the one thing or the ending is uncertain so anything can really happen, and no one knows, which makes it really exciting,” said Ackaway.

With Ackaway’s sister also attending the university, it’s not hard to feel right at home. Growing up in Georgia sparked excitement for Ackaway when it comes to attending the school of the Bulldawgs.

Ackaway said his support system is his family, especially his mother.

“She’s always the one pushing me, telling me that I should follow my goals or just do what I want,” said Ackaway. With just enough leeway and independence, Ackaway said he keeps in touch with his parents regularly.

Since moving to Athens, Ackaway has had to admit that he is “directionally challenged,”. Ackaway puts his Google Maps app to work when driving around his new town. Although Ackaway said he gets confused driving around, he is beyond satisfied with the unique and energetic atmosphere of downtown Athens.

From gaining valuable experience to getting lost on the roads, Athens seems to be a perfect fit for Ballard Ackaway.

Q: What’s your favorite part about living in Athens?

A: Atmosphere. So, I live downtown (right across from the theater) and on game days we’ll see the different teams that come in town and their fans will be here. Yeah it’s a cool, cool atmosphere in Athens.

Q: What is your least favorite part about living in Athens?

A: I don’t know, I can’t really complain…everything’s cheap. Probably getting to the grocery store, I park my car like half a mile away so I have to go walk there. I’m just eating out more.

Q: Who has been your biggest supporter since you decided to pursue a degree from UGA?

A: My mom. She’s always sending me emails about Grady stuff to do so she’s always the one pushing me told me that I should follow my goals or just do what I want. Yeah, and also my teacher that I mentioned before is always text. Yeah, encouraging me to, you know, pursue my goals and pursue my dreams. So yeah, like a mentor.

Q: How do you think shadowing the athletic department is going to help you or it has helped you?

A: I think it’s just a good opportunity, maybe if I end up pursuing sports journalism (or) maybe something in like the athletic department or sports communication. It’s just a good experience to kind of network, get to know people and get to know how athletic departments run.

Q: Have you faced any specific difficulties you’ve had since living in Athens?

A: Yes, I’m directionally challenged. It took me about three years to finally figure out where to go. That’s the biggest because I can’t get anywhere without Google Maps, like even when I go back home I’ll be like, “Where’s the mall?”

--

--