Q+A: Delanee Wilson

Lauryn Russell
JOUR3190
Published in
4 min readFeb 19, 2020

by Lauryn Russell

Delanee Wilson did not always plan for her college career to end up in Grady, but is so glad she did. Now she is doing something she loves.

Wilson is a second-year public relations major from Milton, Georgia with big dreams of pursuing a job in the music industry after graduation. But, she wasn’t always on this path. She started out as a biology major with the intent of going pre-med, but soon realized that she would much rather be doing something she loves than something that pays more.

Growing up, Wilson was surrounded by music. Her own father was a musician. She grew up learning how to play the piano, but eventually found her way to teaching herself how to play the guitar. Her whole world is music; she even has a tattoo in one of her favorite artist’s handwriting on her ribcage that says “Fight the War”.

These are some of the many reasons why Wilson would be a perfect fit for a public relations professional in the music industry. She is very passionate about music resulting from her childhood. More importantly, she brings a sense of determination that is truly untouched.

Lauryn Russell

Did you always plan to attend the University of Georgia? If not, what prompted you to come here?

Delanee Wilson

I definitely did not plan on coming to UGA. I for a long time swore that I’d never come here because I felt like it was going to be just like high school. I went to a really big public high school with just a lot of white people. I knew that if I came to UGA it was going to be the exact same. I really wanted to go to Belmont in Nashville. I was committed there actually and had a roommate. Then, I kind of realized that I didn’t want to be in debt for the rest of my life, and that realization kind of prompted me to reevaluate. I have the Zell Miller scholarship so I can pretty much come here for free, which is really cool and it’s just as good of an education, so that’s why I’m here.

Russell

When did you first know you wanted to get into public relations?

Wilson

Coming out of high school, I was actually a biology major. But, I always had in the back of my mind that I wanted to do public relations, journalism or something, but I figured that I couldn’t or shouldn’t because it wasn’t going to be a stable career, wasn’t a science, I wasn’t going to make six figures. But, I actually found out about the music business certificate program. That was when I was like okay this is what I want to do with my life. I want to go into the music industry. So, I was trying to search for what major match that best, and it turned out that public relations was the most broad major that would allow me to pursue a career in the music industry, without tying me down to something as specific as journalism.

Russell

Was switching majors from biology with pre-med route to public relations hard?

Wilson

Luckily I did it pretty early. I switched my major freshman year so it wasn’t like I had to backtrack or anything. I was still taking like prerequisites, but I’d say the hardest part is having to explain to people why you’re not going to be a doctor anymore. Whenever I wanted to be a surgeon people were like, oh, why did you decide not to have a normal career? So, definitely the hardest part was having to explain that I’m trading in a six figure salary for something that I’m passionate about.

Russell

I noticed the posts of your tattoo, could you touch on the significance and meaning behind it?

Wilson

Yeah, so I have struggled with mental health issues for a really long time. I then discovered this band, called Vista Kicks. Their music just really, I don’t know, I guess it’s cliche to say their music like helped me through it, but it really did. They’re a very small band, so I actually got to know them personally. I’m friends with them and everything. They have a song called “Fight the War”, which has lyrics that just mean a lot to me, and so I asked the lead singer if he could write fight the war on piece of paper for me. So, I got that tattooed in his handwriting on my ribs, and it pretty much just serves as a reminder to overcome my anxieties and keep fighting the war and just not give up.

Russell

That’s really cool that they have so much significance to you. I’ve also seen that you’ve been learning to play the guitar, what inspired you to learn and dive into music that way?

Wilson

So, my dad is a musician, and I was just raised with music being basically my first language above English. Music has always been so important to me. I learned piano when I was six or seven, so once I reached the age of 15 or 16, I decided I wanted to branch out and play something else. So, I decided to teach myself guitar. I’m completely self taught, which is definitely hard. I just wanted to be able to write songs and pursue something else with music, other than just piano and make it more multifaceted.

--

--

Lauryn Russell
JOUR3190
Editor for

Public Relations student at The University of Georgia