Q+A: Lauryn Russell

Delanee Wilson
JOUR3190
Published in
4 min readFeb 18, 2020

By Delanee Wilson

Born and raised in Huntsville, Alabama, Lauryn Russell still finds her motivation within her family. She grew up alongside her biggest cheerleaders, which made quite a lasting impression on her and her dreams. Moving to Valdosta — an unfamiliarly tranquil town — was a significant change of pace for Russell, but it allowed her to experience growth that would later aid in the pursuit of her goals.

Valdosta taught Russell how to be autonomous. She adapted to her surroundings and faced change head on, all while simultaneously reaching out to find that sense of community that helps her thrive. Little did she know, this development would play a key role in her college career.

Public relations and sports management weren’t always on the agenda for Russell — she started her college journey with the intention of becoming a veterinarian. After facing some roadblocks along the way, she decided to pursue something that coupled her passions and abilities seamlessly. Following an internship with the Valdosta State Athletic Department, Russell chose to face change head on once more, transferring to the University of Georgia and drastically altering her career path.

Russell now finds her sense of community within UGA’s Greek life, a gratifying result of branching out after once again finding herself in a new environment. She is eager to graduate from UGA’s Double Dawgs program and hopes to move to a metropolitan city to work for a professional sports team. Most importantly for Russell, though, is knowing that her family will be cheering her on from Huntsville every step of the way.

Delanee Wilson: I saw that you’re originally from Huntsville, Alabama and then you moved to Valdosta. How have those places influenced you and how are they different from each other?

Lauryn Russell: Well, Huntsville is a way bigger city than Valdosta. It has a lot of innovation and, you know, there’s a lot of growth there. We have the Space and Rocket Center and people from everywhere, like people from up north, come down and they work there. And then Valdosta is super small, like, the only thing to do is go to movie theaters or stay at home. I think Huntsville influenced me by just being my home, like, my family’s there and they always strive for me to be the best that I can. I think it’s just my comfortable place. And then Valdosta, I think that it’s really just, you know, moving there. My freshman year of high school, it kind of grew me up a little bit and I think it really made me into the person I am today. Going somewhere where I don’t even know and going to a super small school made me have to find out things about myself and grow with myself.

Wilson: What made you decide against being a pre-vet major?

Russell: What made me decide against being a pre-vet major was honestly taking some of the science courses. I went into chemistry and didn’t excel in it and I decided that I needed to find something that, you know, encapsulates my own abilities.

Wilson: What drew you to UGA’s Public Relations program?

Russell: What drew me to the PR program was actually my internship that I had two summers back where I interned at Valdosta State University for the athletic department. I did sports PR there and I just immediately fell in love with it.

Wilson: So, how has your involvement in Greek life shaped your college experience? And what are the benefits and the downfalls of Sorority life?

Russell: Um, I think it’s shaped my college experience by just mainly putting myself out there. I came in as a transfer student and I rushed as a sophomore. I was living alone in my own apartment here, so I didn’t have any roommates and I didn’t know anyone. I think that really helped me gain friends and a close-knit group. Going through Greek life, some benefits are, you know, being in a sorority, you do gain those like friends for life and people you want at your wedding and all that fun stuff. But also, it kind of comes with the same disadvantages of also attending a small private Christian school where there’s a lot of drama. With all girls in one house and one sorority things tend to, you know, clash. So that’s probably the biggest advantages and disadvantages.

Wilson: So what are you hoping to do post-graduation? What does your future look like?

Russell: Post grad, I want to go into a Double Dawgs master’s program, but after that, I’m hoping to move to a larger city. Hopefully, a big football place like maybe Seattle or Atlanta with the Falcons. I want to focus mainly on football but honestly any big sports place.

--

--