Q + A: Pannell

Mollie Tolbert
JOUR3190
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2020

By: Mollie Tolbert

Just off of Interstate 75 sits the city of Valdosta, Georgia. This city is home to Michael Pannell, a third year journalism major here at the University of Georgia. Pannell grew up in a tight knit community surrounded by familiar faces. He left that close community for Athens, Georgia with the intent of receiving a journalism degree from UGA. Once he arrived in Athens, he was accompanied by one of his closest friends from childhood, which made the transition into college much easier.

Pannell’s passion for journalism started in high school where he was involved with a number of internships within the field of journalism. His interests shifted for a year when he became an exercise sports science major, only to quickly return to Grady. This slight change along with the support of his parents assured him that Grady College was exactly where he needed to be. During his first semester in Grady, Pannell is taking a number of classes which will equip him with the writing, interviewing, and reporting skills necessary for his future career.

Along with a journalism major, Pannell is pursuing the Grady Sports Media Certificate. This certificate allows him to combine his passion for journalism with his knowledge of sports. Pannell has always wanted to work in sports media, and Grady is preparing him for that future. One day, Pannell hopes to be seen working for ESPN or Fox Sports, where he can utilize the reporting and writing skills that Grady has given him.

Mollie Tolbert

So, I know that earlier you said you were from Valdosta. So, what was it like growing up in South Georgia, and what was your hometown experience like for you?

Michael Pannell

My hometown, I mean, everyone kind of knew each other even though it was kind of a bigger town and bigger school but even going out to a restaurant, or going grocery shopping, or anything like that you usually run into someone, you know, either a family member or family friend, It was a good, close community.

Tolbert

So, what was it like to adjust from being from like that smaller town and the community feel to having to somewhere, as big as Georgia?

Pannell

It was definitely hard not seeing everyone I know, but there were a lot of people from my high school that came to UGA, there’s probably 40 or 50 in my class alone that came to UGA. That made it a lot easier, and I also came with my best friend that I’ve known since I was four or five. So that made it a lot easier to adjust.

Tolbert

Once you got here, what put you on the track and led you to decide to become a journalism major?

Pannell

I came into UGA as a journalism major, but then I changed it to exercise sports science for a year. And then I decided to switch back after my sophomore year, because I knew that’s what I wanted to do.I’m glad that I finally switched back and I’m now on the right track.

Tolbert

And how do you think that where you’re from and your upbringing will affect your work as a journalist?

Pannell

My dad definitely hates the media. So he talks to me all the time: don’t get involved in the fake news all that. I mean, even if he didn’t say that I was definitely not going to lean toward “fake news”, as he would say, and my parents were very supportive when I changed my major.

Tolbert

What are your goals in this field after graduation, what is it that you’re wanting to do?

Pannell

Well, I want to go into sports media, and I’m doing the sports media certificate right now. So hopefully one day I’ll catch myself working at either ESPN, or Fox Sports or something like that.

--

--