Q&A: Quincey Durham

Rylie Geraci
JOUR3190
Published in
3 min readFeb 17, 2020

University of Georgia student Quincey Durham pushes past challenges thrown at her while pursuing a career in entertainment journalism. Quincey Durham was born in Columbia, Missouri, and moved to Georgia in 2010 in order to be closer with her family. After moving to Georgia, she started off her education by taking online classes. After some time at online school, she decided she wanted to attend the University of Georgia and pursue a B.A. in journalism.

“I’ve always wanted to come to UGA and especially go into journalism,” said Durham. Durham specializes in entertainment journalism. Rather than studying entertainment and media studies, she decided she wanted to stay outside of the industry.

“Entertainment and media studies is more about being in the industry and I kind of want to be outside the industry writing about it,” said Durham. Her determination and drive for her studies helps her fight the everyday challenges that are thrown at her every day. Durham is in a wheelchair, so attending a large university with many hills and many people, she finds the most challenging obstacle at UGA is just being on campus and trying to get through everything. And while at Grady, the University of Georgia’s college of Journalism and Mass Communication, she hopes to receive her journalism degree and continue writing for Her Campus, an online writing organization.

Rylie Geraci:

Hello, where are you from?

Quincey Durham:

I’m originally from Columbia, Missouri, and I moved to Georgia in 2010.

Geraci:

Why did your family move to Georgia?

Durham:

My aunt and uncle were having babies here and so me and my mom moved out here to be closer to them.

Geraci:

So do you have a close relationship with them?

Durham:

Yeah.

Geraci:

That’s good. So why did you come to UGA?

Durham:

I did online school for a little while so I could get classes under me because of my situation. And then I decided I wanted to go to UGA because I’ve always wanted to come to UGA and especially go into journalism.

Geraci:

Okay, so your major is journalism. But earlier you mentioned how you enjoy writing about entertainment. Why did you choose journalism as your major over EMST [entertainment and media studies]?

Durham:

Entertainment and media studies is more about being in the industry. I kind of wanted to be outside the industry writing about it.

Geraci:

What is your favorite thing to write about and why?

Durham:

Five Seconds of Summer because they’re my favorite band.

Geraci:

Why are they your favorite band?

Durham:

I love them and their music, and they’re really good people and amazing musicians.

Geraci:

So do you have any magazines, critics, or papers that helped influence your love of writing or your style?

Durham:

I did not get my inspiration to write from a magazine or news organization, it was more of like, I just am really into watching TV shows and movies and music, and it inspired me to write about them.

Geraci:

What has been your most challenging obstacle here at UGA?

Durham:

I would say just being on campus and getting through

Geraci:

What about at Grady?

Durham:

I was really nervous about applying to Grady. And at first I didn’t get in, but then someone didn’t except the journalism major, so I got in. I was like: “I’ll just do it.”

Geraci:

And then, do you have any reviews you’re currently working on right now?

Durham:

Yes, I will have one, 5SOS [Five Seconds of Summer] has a new single that comes out this weekend and I’m going to write about it.

Geraci:

Do you write a blog or do you just kind of write to your family?

Durham:

Well, I used to have a blog but I don’t post on it anymore. And right now I’m writing my articles for “Her Campus” club, an organization on campus.

Geraci:

That’s cool. What do you hope to accomplish here at Grady?

Durham:

Well I’m hoping to get a journalism degree.

Geraci:

And then, what is your dream career?

Durham:

My dream career would be moving to LA and finding work there and interviewing celebrities and stuff.

Geraci:

Do you want to write on staff for a specific magazine like EW [Entertainment Weekly] or do you just want to do freelance stuff.

Durham:

I haven’t really thought about that. But yeah Entertainment Weekly and stuff like that I would love to do.

--

--