Athens Coffee Shops Adjust Seating Amid Pandemic

Drew Hubbard
JOUR4090
2 min readApr 27, 2021

--

Instead of groups of people in conversation and work around a table, coffee shops are now quiet without the usual crowd making up the cafe.

Usually, people spend hours a day at coffee shops doing work and in conversation, but not anymore.

“I still get coffee to-go pretty frequently, but it’s not as often as it was,” third-year advertising student Troy Little said. “Wit not being able to do homework sitting in the cafe, it's definitely a little harder to get work done. I mean I don’t have those cafe vibes or anything for me to concentrate on stuff.”

Little is one of many students who can’t work at coffee shops like they did before the pandemic. Shops across Athens have made their own setup to accommodate customers but also stay safe.

Buvez is a local Athens coffee shop that usually seats multiple groups of people on the inside. Now, all the seating has been moved outside.

“I still come to shops with seating a little bit,” Turner Reins said. “I spend most of my time editing photos at home. I don’t like doing it at home as much, but it’s just what I have to do for now.”

Reins spends his time at coffee shops editing his photography. Now, he spends less time at shops and more time at home doing his work.

Molly Stokes, owner of Molly’s Coffee Company, said she allows six groups of people in the shop, and those people enjoy their time together like normal. Before entering Molly’s coffee company, customers have to have their temperature checked before sitting inside.

Shops have different setups because local ordinances allow businesses to have customers inside, but some shops have decided to keep seating outside.

With vaccines coming more available in the coming future, Little hopes that he can work at a coffee shop again like he did before.

“I understand why they’re doing it, it’s to keep us safe,” Little said. “I’m just really hoping shops can open up again soon and I can work in shops like I did before.”

--

--