Reporting Trip: Herman C. Michael Park

Michael Pannell
JOUR4090
Published in
1 min readMar 5, 2021

By: Michael Pannell

As part of my reporting on Athens-Clarke County high school sports, ,I visited a local park in Bishop, Georgia. There weren’t many people in the area, just a few parents with small children at the playground, but not much else. The baseball fields, basketball courts and even the disc golf course were empty.The park seemed peaceful while empty, but I feel it would benefit a lot more from people actually being there exercising or playing a sport, whether it be baseball or basketball. However, parents are most likely worried to bring their children to a park during this pandemic. But it was also 30 degrees. As I made my way around the park, the green grass was still very vibrant, even in the middle of such a harsh freeze. It caught my eye and made me think of what a beautiful place it was to bring a family and have a fun time. There was an outdoor seating area, where no one was of course, right at the disc golf course. This is where you could enjoy a nice lunch while watching others throw the disc or baseball around.

--

--