Jourdan Christopher
strangersinboston
Published in
1 min readMar 5, 2019

--

so, this is a shot from that time a fella called me nigg-er on a train -

for defending a young black boy he’d drunkenly pushed out of the way for a seat.

a young boy who said nor did nothing in return, but did throw a glance of frustration at his space, presence and existence being violated.

a glance that was enough to inspire this fella to curse at this child, spit at him, flick him off, and send energy of utmost malice.

everyone looked, but no one said anything. then I spoke up, diverting the aggression in my direction for the next three stops, staying on after passing my own stop to ensure the boy got off before this “adult”, surrounded by other “adults”.

in the end I raised my camera, looking the fella directly in the eye and capturing an image of him.

being who he is, he pointed directly at the lens, after which I thanked him, for allowing himself to be so clearly seen.

it took me a long time to be able to speak on this, but I’m glad I am who I am

— a man yielding a camera and pen much more bold than himself oftentimes.

--

--

Jourdan Christopher
strangersinboston

Jourdan Christopher is a writer and photographer based in Boston, Massachusetts.