Money

Carlie Morgan
Journal Entries for Life Talk
2 min readAug 4, 2019

I don’t think that you have to have money to be happy or that more money makes you happier. When economists predict that wealthier countries are usually happier, I understand where they’re coming from (because stress from lack of money), but money does not equal happiness. I understand the list of ten things but I don’t think any of them are 100% accurate. It makes sense that most people prefer spending their money on experiences rather than things because those experiences seem to bring happiness that people hold higher than just objects. I’m not really sure what my spending style is because I don’t have my own money yet. But I think I tend to spend my money on stuff more than experiences.

I think it’s crazy but understandable that my generation is more in debt. However, I have always been one to value money and be reasonable when spending. It may have been because of my parents not having a whole lot the whole time I was growing up, so I had to be smart every time I had the opportunity to spend money I was given — because I knew that was not often. I want to be the person to save money for myself and my future because I know that is not top priority for a lot of people right now. My grandma has worked really hard and been really smart with her money so that she can pay off her debt with her savings if she dies before she gets to do that herself. She doesn’t want to put that burden on anyone else.

--

--