5 States of Grief (Indonesia’s 2024 Election Version)

Nabila A. Mirandini
Journal Kita
3 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

I’ve never been into politics. Since I thought that it had nothing to do with me. Yet, I realized it was me being simply ignorant and tone-deaf.

Whoever the president is, it will not change that I’m going to live my life with my own nothing but blood, sweat, and tears. I was a fool and this year’s election has been my turning pages, an eye-opening fact, indeed.

It is not about who will win the presidential election. All I care about is who is going to fail and lose. Yes, one of the candidates is the infamous Indonesia’s Defense Minister with immersive human rights crimes accusation and track record, Prabowo Subianto along with a nepo baby slash the current active Mayor of Surakarta on his side, the son of Joko Widodo as known as the president in charge.

A democratic nation with a political dynasty agenda, isn’t it cool?

I mean, if they went through a fair and square rivalry, the people wouldn’t be that ‘mad’. Everything started to make sense when the Constitutional Court (Mahkamah Konstitusi) suddenly changed the rules of the vice president’s age. However, the public noticed that the president’s brother-in-law, Anwar Usman was the Chief of the Constitutional Court (Mahkamah Konstitusi), and later he was dismissed due to ethical violation. Yet, months after that, he attempted to reclaim the throne as chief of the Constitutional Court (Mahkamah Agung). Not to mention that the son-in-law of the president is the active governor of North Sumatra and his youngest son is becoming the General Chairman of the political parties, Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI). Something is happening here!

At least, I was scared as hell.

Looking at the election’s quick count, shivers ran down my spine. Prabowo-Gibran leads with more than 50 percent of the votes. Fears that may seem excessive, filled with exaggeration but it doesn’t mean that it’s not real. Yep, I invalidated myself because it wouldn’t be that bad, right? It’s the people’s choice after all. But, then I remembered the several irregularities that have been carried out, shamelessly. I mean, imagine what they could do if they ruled this country. A dark age? Perhaps. Authoritarian government? maybe. History tends to repeat itself, scary? Extraordinarily.

An election is not about choosing the best candidate, but preventing the worst from ruling the country -Franz Magnis Suseno

It’s terrifying what happened here and I just don’t get it a lot of people managed to remain calm. Minutes later, after a few sessions with some mates, I figured it out. The fear of this magnitude is only felt by those who don’t have money and are powerless. Those who are unable to run away due to unfinished responsibility, are the backbone of the family. Those with savings that are never enough to apply for a visa, move out to another country.

“Whoever the president is, I’m trapped here. Waiting for death to come and get me”

I’m not a religious person, I rarely pray. But, this time I was praying and crying. I didn’t lie it scares the hell out of me. It feels like not even a single good thing or person in this country could stand and undertake these greedy people unless it’s God himself lending His hands.

May God save this country and its people.

— — —

More to read about Indonesia’s 2024 Presidential Election:

https://pemilu2024.kpu.go.id/ (KPU’s quick count official website)

https://kawalpemilu.org (an independent and voluntarily quick count website)

Recent updates and news:

The Comeback Trail: Anwar Usman Attempt to Reclaim MK Leadership on https://dinsights.katadata.co.id/read/2024/02/16/the-comeback-trail-anwar-usman-attempt-to-reclaim-mk-leadership (Dinsights)

What to Know About Prabowo Subianto as Uncertainty Looms for Indonesia’s Democracy on https://time.com/6694656/indonesia-election-results-president-prabowo-democracy/ (TIME Magazine)

Prabowo Subianto: What can Indonesia expect from its new strongman leader? on https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-68271254 (BBC News)

Feel free to add, revise, and give opinions on this article!

(updated on 17th February 2024)

--

--