Forgotten Tune

Bulan Empat
Journal Kita
1 min readApr 19, 2024

--

Arthur: The Album (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture)

I feel like taking a night stroll,
If you were here you’d be undoubtedly fuss.
I can imagine you’d say it’s dangerous for a girl to walk alone at night, insisting on fetching me up.
Then we’d argue because you raised a girl who enjoyed the lull of night and you passed me down your stubbornness.
The twelfth of never happening tonight.
I should be happy, but alas, that’s not the case.

I settled for a random playlist as my companion, and amidst it, a forgotten tune surfaced.
Isn’t it astonishing how a melody can evoke feelings?

This is not your song that I have kept on my playlist, not the song that we used to sing along together.
Rather, it’s the peculiar yet oddly familiar one.
The one that permeated the background but never grabbed my attention.
Slowly unfolding itself as a soundtrack of my childhood scenes.

Once again I found you in a song.

Tonight you’re walking together with me.
Thank you, Pa.

--

--

Bulan Empat
Journal Kita

Here writing, when I'm not busy adulting and paying bills.