A Scene Like in Korean Drama’s

Pravda
Journal Kita
5 min readJun 30, 2024

--

And then we crossed paths
I looked at her
She just walked away..

Vredeburg Museum. Photo by Me (2024)

A few days before visiting the museum, I read the news that the museum located in the city centre had opened with its new face, because it had been revitalised in such a way that it could attract more domestic and foreign tourists.

I had never been inside a museum before, for one reason or another. However, this time the museum introduced free admission as a trial of its new services, features and infrastructure, so I went a few days after its inauguration.

My visit to the museum coincided with an arts event organised by the local government, which was held at several different locations, but still within the same tourism area.

Therefore, there were practically many tourists who enlivened this area. Old, young, teenagers, adults all gather here. In addition, the museum entrance ticket is still free.

This museum has at least 4 diorama buildings that are located differently, each diorama has a storyline that has been adjusted. Diorama one tells about the history of the formation of the city, diorama two tells about the struggle of the heroes against the invaders, diorama three tells about post-independence, diorama four about the development of the city in modern times.

Diorama II.

In the centre of the museum is a grassy courtyard that can be occupied while relaxing and chatting with friends or family. The museum also has a children’s playroom as well as a playground that makes this museum a comfortable and educational place for families.

You can also enjoy video mapping the metamorphosis of the museum’s historical journey every weekend at night and watch the dancing fountain show with colourful lighting.

If you’re hungry and want to grab a bite to eat, you can head to Rustenberg café, food court and mini market within the museum grounds. For those who want to enjoy the sunset and the city streets, you can head to the Bastion area, a specially created area to enjoy the view of passing motorised vehicles, pedestrians and old city buildings.

Meeting Point

After seeing and enjoying every corner of the museum with its latest version, I walked towards the exit. At first, I was just walking as usual while listening to music on Spotify. But a few steps later, something made me squint my eyes and try to focus on a moving object right in front of me.

A woman I had known before. Close enough. Until I had to confirm again whether it was really her?

In that instant, I felt like it was a scene from a Korean drama, where the man and the woman pass each other, the man noticing the woman passing him by, while the woman just walks on without realising that there is a man looking at her attentively.

In this scene, time seems to slow down, after passing each other, a few seconds later the man turns around, looking at the back of his woman who is walking straight towards the performance stage with a bag carried in her right hand.

Meanwhile, other visitors were enjoying the night atmosphere full of artistic and cultural performances. The moon and stars adorned the sky, making the night even more beautiful.

As I looked into her eyes, my memories of her were immediately thrown far back, as if showing me all the scenes we had been through together. At this point, my eyes began to tear up as I watched him walk away from me, and I could only see his back moving away from me.

You know, all I could think at that moment was…

“Am I not looking at it wrong?”
“Is it really her?”
“Is it really her?”

I was still rooted to the same spot, trying to digest what had just happened. While Novo Amor’s “Colourway” played in my ears, the night spun as if in slow motion.

The moment after she walked away, I turned back around, rubbing my face with both hands, a sign to erase the memories that spontaneously reappeared. I breathed out slowly, then slowly stepped towards the exit…

Outdoor Areas.

…But wait! My footsteps halted for a moment. My heart couldn’t let me leave the museum area first.

“Go after her! But keep your distance, make sure it’s really her!” My heart said.

This was supported by my mind, which was asking questions:

“Where’s she going?”
“Who’s she going to approach?”
“What’s she doing?”
“Will she?”
“Is it really her?”

From these considerations, I then chased after her to simply find out who’s she going to meet? I stepped on to the art stage, my eyes glazed over again. Once on the stage grounds, I tried to look for her, watching the entire audience intently.

Letting go

After ten minutes of sweeping through the audience, I still couldn’t find her. I think she had completely blended in with the crowd, which was quite large at the time. Meanwhile, I had no more time, and had to move on to the next venue.

With a heavy heart, I stepped off the art stage and rushed out of the museum area with my mind still racing and my heart still beating like never before.

Food Court Areas.

I tried to exorcise those feelings with more upbeat and expressive music, so I played Fly By Midnight’s “In The Night”. And the feeling slowly started to subside.

That night was quite a memorable night for me, at least I could feel the vibes of the Korean drama script written directly by God for me, on this theatre stage.

From this spiritual experience, I took away the wisdom that…

“Peoples come and go, that’s normal. There are meetings and farewells.
It’s also normal for possessions to come and go. There are gains and losses.
Property coming and going is also normal. There are gains and losses.
As long as God doesn’t leave you, everything will be fine…”

--

--