Adulthood: We’re All Figuring Out

Selvi M
Journal Kita
2 min readSep 8, 2024

--

Life goes on. Keep going!

Photo by Eutah Mizushima on Unsplash

I still remember when my mom woke me up on a Monday morning. It was a hectic time. I had to wash the dishes before getting ready for school. Then, I ended up arguing with my brother because I couldn’t find my school socks. Mom came to the rescue and she solved my problem.

It was almost too late, but my mother insisted we have breakfast before going to school. At that moment, my responsibilities include washing dishes, attending school, and doing homework.

And now here I am, in my twenties. I find my self too old to be a teenager but too prestigious to labeled an adult. In this phase, I am seeing and realizing how the world works. So many “whys” came up to my mind.

I have to wake up on my own, prepare my own breakfast, do laundry, and, of course, handle my own problems. I need to work to earn a living and manage my life, along with all its disappointments. At this age, often referred to as ‘adulthood,’ I question whether I become an adult.

Having a successful career and achieving my teenage dreams feels far off. Life seems so challenging, with so many things to manage. We juggle career, relationships, self, family, and friends. No one told me that being an adult comes with so many obstacles. While my friends are getting married and landing their dream jobs. I’m stagnating while hanging on to my dreams. I ask myself, is this the life I wanted?

But one day, I realized I’m not alone in this. Everyone is trying to figure things out, even our parents. They are older but still learning as they go. As we grow up, they also evolve and become themselves and parents. People on social media who seem successful also have their own struggle. They just don’t always show them. It’s not fair to compare your life to theirs.

I read an Instagram post that said there is no manual for adulting. Since we are all unique and have different purposes created by our creator. We also have the different paths. I hope we don’t give up. Even when life feels challenging, let’s celebrate it. It’s not just the joyful moments that matter, but also the struggles we endure. Let’s give ourselves another chance and acknowledge how far we’ve come.

No worries! We’re all figuring it out.

--

--