Battle scars

gladhys elliona
Journal Kita

--

Photo by SIMON LEE on Unsplash

It is always lovely to meet you again, because I will see another new scars in you. Or maybe, I did not observe you really well before. I saw a short pigmented line just above your eyelid. I thought I never saw it, maybe it is new, but maybe it is always a part of you. Your face looked dim, even with your bright smile, your face still look like a lunar eclipse. Like, there is a light inside that was concealed. I did not know what kind of cloud and thunder that stayed there, but I can feel that it might rain someday, from your round eyes.

You consisted of your scars: the ink on your skin, the lines and spots on your face, their weariness are louder than your silence. You avoid to commemorate things that should have been your victory, because you own your scars. You write sad stories and share it with the world, you even showed your scars bare, for people to know. I know nothing much, but as someone who closed my heart for years to protect myself, I can feel that you did that too. You took care of your scars, because you know, you consisted of your scars.

You know what I was thinking when I see you? I remembered a picture of an old Greenland shark that lived for hundred of years in the Northern Seas. The picture haunted me, it looked like it survived many man-made weapon too. The eyes looked like it went blind, but it still have some zest of life there. It sustained itself, it survived in a cold dark solitude. Just like you do. God knows what kind of disease that lived with it, but it moves almost healthily anyways. You will always find a way too live with your scars, just like the ancient shark did. It belonged in the natural history. The battles you fought, made you who you are, and for that, you also belong in history, at least on mine. Winning or losing, at least you fought and defend your heart and beautiful soul. With or without protecting yourself, you know your way, I have faith in you.

The scars maketh you, and that made a mark on my heart. I will took care of your mark, owning it in our silence.

--

--