Can I write you a thousand love letters?

Philiaa
Journal Kita
2 min readJun 4, 2024

--

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

In the roundabout circus of madness called life, and all the things that burn me like the new year’s fireworks, you stood there gracefully as the only good thing I ever knew.

I was once lost for action, then I lost for words, and then I lost the ability to name every single emotion that killed me without mercy alongside my adulthood years. Amid my doom, my stone-hard heart, and my hungry demon, you are the sole star that brings every fiber of my being back to life.

My Sun, can I write you a thousand love letters? If I make you a fairytale, would you burn them to ashes? I’m afraid that my clumsy touch, the thumping beat of my broken typewriter, would never reach your heart. Moonlight drowned in between the curtain folds, you are the means of perfection where none of these cringy, ugly confessions should pass by your sight. After all, I am just a human filled with imperfection.

My Dear, everything I do will never escape from wrongdoings, anguish, regrets, and ugliness. You are the reflection of a person I will never be. How could I be brave enough to face you? Even in a thousand years I will still long for you through a one-way mirror.

And so, with these collections of love cupid-arrowed words and scattered confessions to the person I miss the most, I hope this letter will find you someday. I hope when the time comes, you can be the one to accept my truth, with all the unmatched patterns of clothes I sew every day, I hope you can see the light in my humble soul and embrace me as an ordinary human who adores you so very much.

Will I ever hear the sound of your footsteps on my door? Alas, alas, what a sweet dream for a mere girl like me to wish it’d be true…

--

--

Philiaa
Journal Kita

Let my long-lost love soar high to the sky as the infinite, dazzling stars.