Tonight the world dies

Iqbal Nurdiansyah
Journal Kita
2 min readApr 5, 2024

--

How can live in a city where every place looks like memories?

In every restaurant, in every mall you come across, when you see other people, you feel like everyone looks like her, every couple looks like the two of you. Her face haunts you where ever you go. As you walk through the street, the buildings seem to whisper

“Do you remember, you and i often rode through this road together?”

Even when you drink with old friends, there’s a whisper of the wind

“Hey… When you often meet your friend, our relationship is doing fine”

I don’t know where that whisper is coming from. From my heart? I doubt. From my dark desire? Oh maybe. I can’t understand, this feeling is like a time bomb that’s just waiting a few seconds to explode.

How can you play the music when every song you often hear remains you of her ? Music that used make you feel better, now feels like like screams from within and slowly bleeding.

At the red lights flash, it feels like there’s a head resting on my arm, and there’s a gentle hand holding me as if it never wants to let me go. I won’t go home without you. I just want to wake up from my sleep tight cause I hear your sound breath by my side. The shine in your eyes brightens my darkest nights. Yeah it’s burning red !

I’m in this city dreaming about who we used to be, when everything is easy game to play. A gentle breeze in the night will always be our friend as we ride at 60km/h. We share the moment when the sky full of stars. I can’t feel no pain and it’s the last time i feel alive. The wheels turn like my feelings at that moment. I used to think there was nothing better than seeing your lips move slightly upward. Can’t forget that.

I saw you ghost tonight and the moment felt so real. You are far across the street, a lonely road in hopeless place, and i look no tears down on your face. It fucking hurt like hell.

Now all that’s left is me and and the little stars. They give a whisper

“Hey..everythings gonna be okay cause the both of you see the same me :)”

Those whispers heal me from all these feelings, but sometimes i feels this city has turn into a dead city. This city has become a ghost of its former self, a shadow of what it once was. There’s no feel and only the great mess sweeping throught.

Sometimes i wanna blow this town and let it burn with picture and memories.

--

--