Don’t Die — One More Day

adorasisy
Journal Kita
3 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Spirited Away (2001)

I often yearn to escape far, far away, feeling terrified of what the future holds. I’ve thought about death many times, but honestly, I’m afraid of dying. I’m just a person who is very scared of facing the future with so much uncertainty.

On days when everything feels overwhelming, tears drain my spirit, my heart aches, and I feel worthless, as if time is crawling by. The noisy whispers in my head leave me powerless.

They say there’s so much more in store for me, but what if this is all I’ve got? What if all the fears in my mind become reality?

Sometimes, when your mind is noisy, there’s one voice louder than the others, wondering if your absence would matter. “If I’m not here, it will be okay, right?” Well, the world will keep turning, but who cares about that? What about you? Is that really what you want? I hope you know and realize that all the bad thoughts are just fleeting. Your life, your efforts are never in vain; nothing is wasted.

Maybe today you’re not happy, and maybe you’ve felt quite miserable throughout your life. But perhaps your happiness is coming tomorrow, or when you’re walking on the street next weekend, or when you meet your favorite person, or as simple as having your comfort food this evening.

I know your mind is noisy, asking, “Why can’t happiness come now? Why do I have to wait for tomorrow when my legs are already stumbling? Why, why?” And just like you, I don’t know the answer either. But I pray and believe that with hardship comes ease.

What does happiness mean to you? How do you know if you are happy? Is there any clue? Where is it, what does it look like, how does it feel? Is it like the burst of fireworks burning in the sky, or joy so intense it hurts your heart, or a madness that makes no sense?

Maybe happiness is like cookie dough being baked — if taken out too soon, it won’t be done, and if left too long, it can become hard. To have perfect cookies, we need to wait for the perfect time. Sometimes, when you’re sad and feeling down, any little happiness can be overshadowed by the tears in your eyes.

I hope that amid the many things that make you sad and scared, there are things that can keep you going, even just a little, enough to make you want to seek the happiness you truly desire. The moment you feel sad, the feeling of terror won’t last forever and the happiness you feel isn’t the last one.

Looking back, there were many times I wanted to give up, but somehow I kept trying and eventually overcame each challenge. Then I realized there are many reasons to be grateful for being alive in this world. I want to try again. I want to endure and keep going. Just one more day. One more day.

I know, you might still thinking about death, but please, don’t die. Let’s imagine if we didn’t give up, what kind of happiness would come to greet us? Let’s pray and work for it. Let’s live as much as we want to leave.

You might feel sad, scared, or numb. You might even feel like time stretches on endlessly. But you know, life is like a roller coaster where every day brings its ups and downs. Some days you feel happy, others are just average, and sometimes you feel so low that you contemplate escaping it all, or you’re gripped with fear, hoping today never changes.

Every emotion you feel matters deeply. But, what if we could take that anxious feeling and turn it into a sense of anticipation and excitement? And even in moments of calm, your beating heart whispers a reminder: you are alive. You are still alive. You still have time.

So, don’t give up, okay? Don’t die. Let’s find one more happiness, let’s eat one more meal, let’s go for another walk, let’s try once more, one more day.

I hope you are surrounded by kindness and happiness. I hope your pain eases soon. I’m sending you my prayer and support. I pray that happiness will be found and relief will be granted for every pain.

--

--