Enjoy The Process

Denny Kodrat
Journal Kita
3 min readMay 18, 2024

--

A process can be long or short. It depends on a goal to achieve. No matter how long or short the process, if you enjoy it, you are a true winner!

Photo by Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

In a fast-moving world today, people are competing to obtain their goals as fast as they can. People probably do not care how to be successful people, as a result of gaining their goal. They think of the result. the faster you achieve it, the better you are. They skip the process since they are looking for an instant or shortcut way to finish.

People want to stand in a long queue to be an idol. The talent shows never lack of participants. They think that is the fastest way to be famous and the easiest way to earn money. Again, success means money to achieve instantly.

I never judge that the instant process is bad and the long process is good. No, I do not want to discuss it from a bad or good perspective. I’m concerned with how people enjoy the activities they love until they hit their goal. What if they never achieve their goal? Will they still enjoy their activities?

Let us talk about my example. I love writing. For me, writing is healing. I like sharing my thoughts, writing articles, and send to online media, including Medium.com. Sure, I’m very happy when the media publishes my articles. I read and happily share it with others. I enjoy my time in writing. I’m happy when my article is published.

What if the media declines my article? Am I still happy? or sad? and decide to stop writing?

People enjoying writing articles will love all processes. They will be happy in making sentence by sentence, revising, and polishing until the article is done. The process of waiting publication decision to accept or decline the article is the most interesting part. Whatever decision is made never changes the point that I love writing. I keep writing and writing.

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

People whose hobby is photography never complain their photo is not published in magazines or media. They love their activities in photography. Uncountable moments they experience and share shape their skills. Until one day, you become a great photographer because you have already spent one or two decades in photography. You never feel that 10 or 20 years is a long time. No, you won’t. Because you enjoy the moment, you love the process of your activity until you “hit” your goal (being an expert in photography). Even though the moment of your achievement is never recognized by others, you will not care. The happiest moment you have is when you enjoy your activity and never ask anymore, “Does the process take time?”

Denny Kodrat is a passionate writer, citizen journalist and educator, based in Sumedang, West Java Province, Indonesia.

--

--