Good Time to Say Goodbye

Hafidz Bintang
Journal Kita
3 min readJun 11, 2024

--

We can never take goodbyes properly

In life, we rarely or never got farewell in the way we expect. We are often disappointed because of it, no way not. Oddly enough, we often experience farewell but why can’t we just deal with it. Graduating from school and moving on to the next level, parting ways with best friends as he pursues his goals, wandering away from home to fight for a better life, quitting one job and leaving behind his former familiar people, and relationships with couples that end up breaking up.

Photo by Lute on Unsplash

We all can never accept a farewell properly.

It is naive of humans to think that farewell is a bad thing while meeting is a good thing. Even though without realizing it, farewell ultimately makes us able to accept the new arrival. Life is like an open world game that cannot be completed by just one character. We need to meet a dozens or tens of characters to become the most powerful character. This happens not only in games, in movies or anime though also interpret the same thing. Thor had to lose his father, mother, brother, even his love to become the mighty God of Thunder. Even Luffy and the Straw Hat pirate crew have been docked since 1997, meet and part with various friends and opponents, but still haven’t gotten One Piece.

When I was in high school, I had a close friend. I wasn’t an easy child to get along with, so whenever I had friends, I was always proud. Every day we eat together, play together, sleep together (this is because I live in a boarding school). For months the routine was never interrupted, until one day my best friend knew someone else. I know him, too, but not too close. My friend was good friends with the boy to the point that I felt abandoned. I feel discarded. Feeling ignored.

I did something ridiculous. After school, when I saw the two of them walking together, I pelted them with pebbles. Damn it, I just hit my friend in the back. He grimaced in pain, bent over holding his back. I pretended not to know and chose to walk past them both. I thought it was just a small stone, impossible to make my friend was seriously injured. When I got to my room, I waited for him to come. I waited until I fell asleep and woke up when approaching maghrib time, he was not yet visible. I finally got word that he was taken to a health clinic because he was bleeding.

The one farewell I remember was when my girlfriend broke up with me. We have been in a relationship for four years. Our relationship ended abruptly (for me). I can’t normalize the breakup. I felt a great loss. I feel like half of me is gone. I can’t accept the pain I feel. In the end, I took it out on my ex. I hated her half to death. Even to meet and look into her eyes I did not want.

From those two experiences I learned that I was never ready for a farewell. I was too scared to say goodbye. It’s selfish of me to want everything to stay and sustain. I was too naive to realize that the world was so cruel. The only choice in life is to leave or be left. The only thing in this world that cannot be made a habit of is farewell.

The only thing in this world that cannot be made a habit of is farewell.

I am aware, and I hope you are too, that there is no method of habituation when it comes to farewell.

We can only continue to learn from one farewell to another. Learning to interpret farewell is not the worst tragedy that will devastate us. We were devastated because we couldn’t move on from the breakup. All partings must be painful, no way not.

In the end, there is no good time to say goodbye.

--

--

Hafidz Bintang
Journal Kita

A writer who strives to write as attractively as possible