her reminiscence of Jakarta

A city that holds a thousand memories.

nazilah achmad
Journal Kita
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2024

--

Photo by Muhammad Aziz Ali Mutia on Unsplash

Jakarta, a big city with busy streets that surrounded by a row of skylines. This city is the place where I have lived my life for almost 23 years. It has witnessed many occurrences in my life.

It reminds me of crowded traffics, coffee shops at every corner, busy people with solitude filling their minds, unique community folks, and any kind of transport.

Jakarta holds a plenty of profound memories. Every corner, every streets, and every places I ever visited have its own story. I refuse to forget each of them.

This city has silently witnessed every version of myself. I’ve changed and gone through a lot, from time to time. But strangely, Jakarta remains the same.

I used to cry myself to sleep every night six years ago. The time where I tried to stay alive cause I barely hold myself together at certain moments. It all happened in Jakarta.

This city is where I decided every big decisions for my future, whether it turns out dissappoint or delight me. I didn’t regret any decision I made, anyway. Those trials and errors happens here.

Photo by Syahril Fadillah on Unsplash

Whenever I pass random streets or buildings, I always know that they keep one of my stories in it. Those streets and buildings have recorded the memories pretty well. I let the story live through it, so that the memories within it will live on.

Jakarta will always remain the same, it’s just the people who live in it have changed. But, every corner of this city reminds us of who we were before. They left an imprint of our old version, cause Jakarta won’t let us forget it.

I keep my favorite fairy tale somewhere in the city. A place where I was a little younger and naive, the time when idealism took over me. I’ll make a promise to not visit that place anymore.

I hope Jakarta doesn’t change a bit, so these stories that lived through the city remain the same.

That’s the only way I can keep you.

--

--

nazilah achmad
Journal Kita

the labyrinth of the world intrigued her to get lost in it, so she wrote to elaborate the bizarre things she discovered.