I Didn’t Regret Us

Nabila A. Mirandini
Journal Kita
2 min readMay 4, 2024

--

Personal archive owns by Author

I didn’t regret you,

I didn’t regret us,

I didn’t regret every sweet and bitter things we’ve been through.

I didn’t regret all of those nights we spent together, under the cover.

I didn’t regret all of those booked train or flight tickets.

I didn’t regret every breakfast that I made you in the morning, nor the dinner you made me at night.

The toast was slightly burned, but it didn’t change the way it tasted.

The meat was a little bit too salty, but it didn’t change the memories that I had of us.

I didn’t regret you,

I didn’t regret us,

Not even single glimpse of thoughts.

I didn’t regret you,

I didn’t regret us,

I didn’t regret every war that we’ve been through.

Even the greatest one amongst them.

I didn’t regret you,

I didn’t regret us,

I didn’t regret every poem that I swirled you into it,

You’re my muse at certain times.

You’re the figure behind all of my masterpiece.

I didn’t regret all the crimes and sins we committed,

I didn’t regret all of the mistakes we did.

I didn’t regret all of those illicit meetings and secret codes,

We’ll be dead if they knew.

I didn’t regret you,

I didn’t regret us,

I didn’t regret meeting you or replying to all of your texts,

answering every time my phone rang with your name on it.

I didn’t regret you,

I didn’t regret us,

I didn’t regret going to all of my favourite places with you.

I didn’t regret sharing my comfort foods with you.

One plate for two? Why not.

I didn’t regret you,

I didn’t regret us,

I didn’t regret running, coming back to you.

I didn’t regret the house that we built along with the colors of the walls and the furnitures.

A little bit of blue with the touch of purple on certain spots.

Definitely not the best of color combination, but it’s comfy.

It was our home for the longest time.

It was never a regret.

I did my time,

You did yours.

We did ours.

--

--