If your journey takes longer, it doesn’t mean you’ve failed

nabil
Journal Kita
Published in
3 min readJul 28, 2024

--

Life is full of mysteries, and the world is where these mysteries hide and reveal themselves in their own time.

Yesterday afternoon, I was shocked by the news that a friend from junior high school had passed away. She died. We hadn’t spoken since we graduated eight years ago, and suddenly, this sad news hit me out of nowhere.

Less than a month ago, another friend from the same school happily announced his wedding. His posts since then have been filled with joy, showing beautiful moments with his partner. Seeing his happiness made even the loneliest among us smile.

I thought for a long time, realizing that news of death comes just as suddenly as happy news like weddings. We never know which will come first or what news will reach our friends and family.

This wasn’t the first time I heard about a peer passing away. College friends have left us, and high school friends have gotten married and started families.

How does this happen? How do our paths lead us in such different directions, scattering us into different lives?

What are we truly chasing in this world if the end of our journey is still unknown?

One idea that has comforted me and that I still believe in is that everyone has their own path. Our destinations might be the same, and we might start at the same time, but your path might be winding and full of turns, unlike others. Or maybe your road is straight, but it’s rough and filled with sharp stones that hurt your feet, making you stop often to heal. Along the way, you might see beautiful flowers, but their thorns scratch your skin, causing more pauses.

Why is it like this? Why does it have to be so complicated? Why can’t everything be simple and end together? These questions keep coming to my mind. Instead of feeling positive, I often wonder what’s wrong with me that makes my journey feel so much slower than others’.

But I can’t say that if I arrived earlier, my life would be better. Or if I reached the finish line first, those behind me would be less important. If I achieved my goals sooner, I might become arrogant and forget who I am, especially since I crave appreciation and validation.

So, it’s okay. This journey is not over yet.

Your path might be slower, but you’re still moving forward, and each step is new challenges that make you stronger. The important thing is not to stop. Even if the finish line seems far away, it’s there. Your feet wouldn’t have started this journey unless you were meant to walk it.

And it is normal to feel afraid. But don’t let fear control you. You didn’t know who you would meet or what you would experience when you started, but you began anyway. Those fears come with beautiful surprises waiting for you at the end of the road.

We are not in a race. Our paths might be side by side, but our destinations are not necessarily the same. It’s okay to walk at your own pace, enjoying the journey and learning from everything you encounter.

Rest if you’re tired. Sometimes, this journey is exhausting. Recover before you continue. The most important thing is not to quit. You didn’t start this journey to abandon it halfway.

Finish what you began.

Don’t let envy cloud your goal. Everyone has struggles we don’t see. Everyone is on their own journey. Everyone, too, stumbles along the way.

Their process does not affect your journey.

Their achievements do not define your worth.

Their happiness does not take away from your own.

You haven’t failed just because your walk takes longer.

You will get there.

--

--

nabil
Journal Kita

Life through my lens. @adzranbila on instagram!