It Was Hopeless After All (The Sunset Is Beautiful, Isn’t It?)

sincerely, fal
Journal Kita
2 min readMay 11, 2024

--

before the sunset, picture taken by the author

Sunsets are a sign of a day nearly reaching it’s end. The sight of said sunset is actually very aesthetically pleasing. Though the beauty of the sunset is very mesmerizing, the sentence “The sunset is beautiful, isn’t it?” hides a very sorrow meaning behind it’s beauty. That particular sentence means ; “I love you, but i’m letting go”.

I thought that you would be the exception from those i’ve loved in the past. I thought you would become something that would actually last. Those eyes made me believe that we could be different from the rest. But instead, those eyes are the reason of my tears every night.

Turns out the truth hurts more than the lies. But then again, the truth hides behind the lies. Everything about us was just lies and daydreams i made in my head. We were impossible from the start. We were meant to meet but not to be one.

photo of the sunset, taken by yours truly

“The sunset is beautiful, isn’t it?” Words i want to say but physically unable. I still love you, truly. But I’m tired of the false hope I’ve made myself believe. I’m tired of hoping for more, when in fact we’re just nothing more than two humans from an ocean of them. When in fact we’re just a drop of ink in the sea. When in fact I’m just one planet orbiting around you, the sun. I still love you, but I’m tired of trying.

I’m tired of trying to believe we’d actually happen when I know that everyone i’ve ever loved became a lesson in the end. I’m tired of making the first moves. But if I don’t, who will? You won’t take the chance and I don’t believe in any of this.

Is it really me in your dreams or is it just someone who’s just similar to me? Why do i feel like everything keeps on going from north to west. It’s always one step forward and three steps back. And those three steps are big jumps whilst that single step forward is just a small translation.

We’re not making progress, you’re not making progress. It was hopeless after all. If we keep trying nothing will happen. I am unable to make you love me before the sun sets to the west. And therefore, the sunset is beautiful isn’t it?

“You’re gonna wake up and see that it was hopeless after all” Rewrite the stars, James Arthur and Anne-Marie

--

--