Joy of Missing Out

tsaqifra
Journal Kita
2 min readJun 23, 2024

--

or JOMO, the antithesis of FOMO (Fear of Missing Out), describes the contentment of staying in and disconnecting as a form of self-care. It’s a feeling of satisfaction in prioritizing peace over the constant busyness of life.

Perhaps some might see JOMO as a justification for seeking tranquility from a hustle work life, an excuse to withdraw from a society they don’t quite fit into, or simply a comfortable state of existing within their own bubble.

Photo by Diego San on Unsplash

Personally, I relish being a JOMO enthusiast sometimes. It allows me to be blissfully unaware of things that don’t truly concern me, to learn saying “no” to invitation that I didn’t really want to attend, to avoid unnecessary gossips that drains my energy. Cause sometimes, social media, with its curated portrayals of other’s live, can fuel feeling of inadequacy and create a sense of societal standards that need to be met. It can leave me feeling overwhelmed and out of sync. And sometimes, everything in my life falling all all over the place and become such a mess. I need to disconnect and reorganize my thoughts, have a perfect me time to recharge, and a serious talk with myself.

Being joy of missing out helps me prioritize what truly matters. It allows me to be present in the moment, acknowledge my needs and desires without paying too much attention to unnecessary variable. It’s about slowing down the phase and finding my own rhythm to navigate life. It has been an effective way for me to clear my head, for a while at least.

However, excessive JOMO can backfire. In the past, too much JOMO caused me to neglect valuable connection, it ever took me where I cut off many people that leading to strained friendships with lasting effect. It was something that cannot be undone. I’ve learned that maintaining connection is a crucial for my well-being in the long run.

And I try so hard to not doing it once again cause I know how peaceful it is when I’m alone.

Finding balance is a key. As the saying goes, “too much anything is a bad thing”, this applied to both FOMO and JOMO.

Life is a continuous learning experience, and finding the right balance between staying connected and prioritizing self-care is an ongoing journey for all of us.

May we find a way.

Love,

Tsaqifra.

--

--