kindly check your loved ones

Dila Demara
Journal Kita
2 min readAug 26, 2024

--

My phone rang as I was ready to go to bed in the middle of the night. A message came in from my friend saying, “I need help.” I assumed she would give me a choice between the two things she wanted to buy, so I could give my opinion and make her feel less confused. Since I thought her question was not urgent and I was already exhausted, I decided to answer her the next day.

In the morning, I asked her, “What’s up?” After some time, she replied, “My life has been a mess lately, do you know any recommendations for psychiatrists who are not judges?” My heart skipped when I read those two lines. My mind drifts to the days we spent together. All I remember is that she was always a cheerful girl. Even yesterday, when we last met, she made many jokes, and there seemed to be no sadness around her.

I felt guilty for myself right then and there. How could I spend nearly every day with my friend and never ask about her feelings, simply because she looked fine? How could I let her spend long nights alone without a shoulder to cry on? Why can I only be present in her joyful moments and not in the difficult ones? God, forgive me.

Hometown Cha Cha Cha

I didn’t notice that others around me were also struggling because I was so focused on my own issues. From now on, I will be more aware of others. Depression doesn’t have a specific look. Many people sometimes hide their suffering behind a beautiful smile in front of large crowds, but we know nothing when no one is watching, their true feelings are revealing. It’s important to check up on your people, even the happiest ones. A one-minute phone call can save someone’s life. A meme you send can change someone’s day.

Mental health is invisible. We need to pay attention to make it visible.

--

--