Life’s All About Play

Raihan Nur Yaqin
Journal Kita
2 min readJul 7, 2024

--

Can’t you just stop messing around?" It’s a question often thrown at us as we grow older. The intention is to make us more responsible. True enough, but it needs to be taken with a grain of salt.

Photo by Navid Sohrabi on Unsplash

"Sometimes, instead of making us mature, it just makes us look mature. At least that’s what I noticed in the first half of my 20s. We become reluctant to make mistakes, show imperfections, and take on new roles because we’re afraid to play around anymore. As a result, we hold ourselves back from the experiments we used to do. Does stopping to play around mean we want to be mature or just appear mature?

Personally, I get bored easily, so I like to play around with ordinary things. I add a different touch to make the process more memorable. Ironically, that's how I learn a lot. First, the process becomes interesting, so I'm more focused. Second, I experience new things when modifying the process. So, playing around actually makes me learn more about life.

We're familiar with the word "play" in games, both real-life and video games. These games are created by studying life: there's exp, levels, missions, equipment, rules, and so on. From this concept, I try to adopt it back into my life. So, I learn about life from games that learn from life itself. Confusing, huh?

Back to the process of playing around, I learned that when we play, we gain exp from every experiment. After doing a certain number of experiments, we'll reach a certain level in life. If we fail, we know one wrong way as anticipation. Keep playing, keep trying, keep collecting exp, and we'll reach the level of maturity and win at life.

Just Write #4

--

--

Raihan Nur Yaqin
Journal Kita

I explore personal and emotional themes, depicting my experiences and human reflections in my works. Hello everyone, let's get to know each other.