loml, Probably.

Makotheecat
Journal Kita
2 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Well, even in the end--I'm still standing, right?

The promises I ever held were desolated in the ruin of our history

A reminder of how I thought I was yours in the back of my mind

You asked me to be the hand who could keep you from falling apart

Someone to keep you going when life is trying to shackle your legs for going forward

Unknowingly, I am shackling myself in the name of my commitment to you

A golden cage that I put in my own hands, in the middle of masquerade

Who’s gonna tell me that I cling to the rope that didn’t exist?

Turned to bitter truth where I end up falling into pieces?

A brutal reality that wakes me up from the endless dream

Maybe I was awake the whole time

But convince myself that I’m not for the sake of dreaming

My eyes linger around, and it finally sank at how much it cost me

How I keep writing the story in my skin

A burning wound that I perceive as a blessing

Yet not even the salt stream can formed within my eyes

The dream of the nevercoming cost the drought of my tears

I was an afterthought even when I sat in the front seat

Looking at you, whose gaze is fixed on the backstage

When the lights go out, so does my heart

Giving up on the pretense of love, which turned into anguish

The show is finally ending

and I found myself going home crying

I drowned

In the sorrow, caused by my own failing judgement

The siren is screaming

The streetlight is silently laughing

At the behest of me, who keep loving

Even when I know the ending

Something that never existed should never be mourned

But here I am, standing in the cemetery of our stories

I left no flowers to honor it,

Just like how you leave me with nothing to remember

--

--