maybe it’s time

Maisha Rachmat
Journal Kita
2 min readMar 25, 2024

--

Photo by Marcus Wallis on Unsplash

for most of my life

self-hatred is the only language I’m most fluent in

when I left a mistake in my trail

I would scratch my skin

hoping I’d bleed and be born anew

I couldn’t bear to see myself go unpunished

maybe if I were a Greek god, I’d be Atlas

feeling like I was chained to the world

and its heartbreak a burden for me to carry

when I met you

you asked me why I carried them alone

why I carried them at all

why I would inflict pain on myself

when I did something as human as making mistakes

you treat your heart with care because your parents didn’t

the world was hard on you, but you decide to thicken your skin

to protect the soft soul within

your voice has soothed the wounds I left untreated for years

the warmth of your arms has seeped between my cracks

and nursed me back to health

I thought love and safety are conditional, a reward

as if I needed to complete a to-do list

before I can get them as a fully grown human being

but if God loves me as I am, who am I to deny that love?

your presence has become a permanent fixture in my life

and the picture-perfect vision I once held is slowly chipping itself away

I no longer want to tick off checkboxes

or shoulder myself with unrealistic expectations

you tell me you love me, and I love you

if that’s true,

then maybe, I have enough love for myself, too.

--

--

Maisha Rachmat
Journal Kita

Full-time content writer, part-time poetry enthusiast.