Me Time Mania: The Art of Enjoying Your Own Company

Nadhifa Smara Hidayat
Journal Kita
2 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Savor your own company without apology

Capturing Sunday Morning

I love being alone; I love loneliness. Is there something wrong with that?

Some people look at me weirdly when I choose to spend more time alone than others need. ‘Don’t be sad,’ they say. To be honest, I’m confused. Why would I be sad? I’m quite a happy, upbeat person. It takes a big problem to make me sad or stressed.

I stay at home on my own, go out and do chores on my own, watch movies at the cinema, eat at restaurants, or just stare at nothing in the park on my own. Is it weird? I don’t think it’s a big deal. It’s harder to go out with someone else. You have to match schedules, discuss what you’re going to do, handle the budget (splitting the bill or anything else), etc. It’s an extra hassle.

The other day, I met my friend. She wanted to see a movie, but I had already watched it. It’s a good movie, so I kept recommending it to her. However, she said she had already asked around and no one could watch it with her. I mean, it’s simple, right? Just watch it on your own. But she said she can’t, never has, and doesn’t want to go to the cinema alone. To be honest, I don’t understand. Just like she didn’t understand how I could go watch it by myself.

When I’m in my own company, I can feel the atmosphere. I can create it to be anything I want it to be. When I’m sad, I don’t have to pretend that I’m okay. When I’m happy, I can just feel the spring in my steps. Ah! That reminds me! I was on my way home after work, so it was about 6 pm and the sky had just turned dark. I bought some street food that tasted good the other day, so I bought it again. The seller asked me, ‘Just on your own?’ and I just answered, ‘Yes.’ On my way back home, I was quite confused as to why they asked me that. Is that necessary? But then, without realizing it, my steps got lighter and I started smiling. I just realized that the air was so fresh, and the food I bought was so good I couldn’t wait to demolish it. I’m just happy. I don’t care about anyone’s opinion. I am happy to be in my own company.

Don’t get me wrong, I love hanging out with my friends and family. But I also love spending time on my own, having conversations with myself. I cherish the time I spend with others and by myself.

--

--