Run with It instead of Thinking About It

Never let fear take control, use it as a motor

Had Unji
Journal Kita
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2024

--

The Edukators (2004)

Whenever I want to do something, I always overthink it and worry that someone will judge me.

For example, because of my deep love for music, I want to start making music using a digital audio workstation, as I cannot afford to buy instruments. After that, I could upload it to YouTube.

However, I am afraid that my work will not be well-received by people. Thoughts like, “What if people think my music is bad?” or “What if no one is interested in listening to my songs?” constantly swirl in my mind, causing me to hesitate in creating music and uploading it.

With these swirling thoughts, I am too afraid to take a step closer to what I want to do.

Then, at a random moment, I stumbled upon a video where Tyler the Creator answered a question from the audience at the 2022 Converse All-Star Series in Paris. You can check out the full video here: All-Star Series: Tyler Talk, Paris.

An artist from Toronto, Canada, asked Tyler about her dream to start a clothing brand, but her label said she needed to reach a certain level of success first.

Tyler responded in his witty and fun manner, saying,

“It’s like you clearly want to make something, so why not just make it?”

“Because I’m scared,” the audience answered.

“Of what?”

“I don’t know.”

“Exactly, you just answered your question,” Tyler said.

He continued, “Just make what you want to make.”

Tyler the Creator at the 2022 Converse All-Star Series in Paris

This conversation spoke to me personally. It felt as if I were the audience and Tyler was speaking directly to me. As Nike’s tagline says, “Just do it.” What makes an idea worthy is when we execute it, not when it stays in our heads.

While the artist from Toronto didn’t know what she was scared of and her record label told her so, I am scared of the possible negative perceptions my mind has already created, even though I haven’t started. It’s as if there’s a voice in my head saying, “You suck, just stop doing it.”

Many of you are surely familiar with this feeling, as if someone is watching your every move and ready to criticize or drag you down for everything you do. In the end, this fear stops you from starting anything.

I understand that validation and appreciation are valuable and encourage us to pursue our passions. Positive affirmation motivates us to go out and explore. But if you can’t please yourself, how can others feel the pleasure of what you do?

Maybe, starting now, we should put that worry aside. Let’s remind ourselves that we do it because we want to, we want to experience it, and we want to learn.

Go make your own clothing brand, go create your own song, start a band with your friends, or go for the job you’ve always aimed for.

At the end of the day, you need to ask yourself,

“Who are you when you are not performing for the people inside your head?”

--

--

Had Unji
Journal Kita

Portraying everything that comes in my mind in a form of words