The Joy of Heartbreak

All the feelings I’ve had are called love.

Nadhifa Smara Hidayat
Journal Kita
Published in
2 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Myself after an extraordinary day

I thought I was bored, sometimes I was angry, or just calm. All those feelings constantly rotated inside my heart until something happened, some big changes, some wheels turned. I was sad, to the point I thought my heart was ripped out. I felt grateful to be surrounded by so many caring people, even those I don’t particularly like or who haven’t been noteworthy in my life, showing me that they care.

That morning I was very purposeful and full of energy, eager to share it with the people I met. But, funnily, all those people I encountered ended up sharing their energy with me, showing that they care. They gave me the care, time, and appreciation I thought I didn’t need.

It touched me. Something just shook my heart at the end of the day. My eyes suddenly felt blurry, and the tears came out like that. It’s not about what I do; it’s about the people who were there along the way. The fact that they were always there, showing their support without asking for anything in return. All of their actions molded me into who I am today. I am proud of who I am and of what I’ve become. They are the ones who always encourage me to discover myself, the ones who cheer me up when I fail and back me up when I make a mistake after a mistake.

I thought I was a grateful person until I realized so many things, so much kindness that all the people around me showed. It was then I knew there was no limit to gratefulness.

Don’t only count your misfortunes; don’t forget to count your blessings.

In films, love is often depicted as a neon color, something that stands out from all other colors, something that requires grand gestures to express or validate it. But it turns out love is just color — all the colors — something that’s always there, filling my days like a constant thought in my head. It’s about small actions, just a little something to spark my life.

Note to self: Don’t ever forget their kind actions, silly affections, and heartfelt words. All those people who reached out, who were just there.

I love it. This sadness of this farewell, this hurt in my heart caused by their kindness, these tears that just won’t stop. It’s that meaningful; it’s not something that just passes by. I love my life.

--

--