The Music I Never Saw

An Ode to Sore’s Lyrics

Kurnia Sukma Adiguna
Journal Kita
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2024

--

Photo by Bruno van der Kraan on Unsplash

Have you ever been hooked on a song or a musician, simply by reading the lyrics, even before you had heard the music?

For me, that happened with an Indonesian band called Sore. I first came across them during my high school years, around 2009–2010, a time when discovering new music wasn’t as straightforward as it is today. Back then, bands that didn’t appear on TV or radio were very difficult to find, and Sore was one of those. Before listening to their music, my initial awareness of them came indirectly, as they were often cited as an influence by other bands.

My first encounter with their music was purely via the lyrics found during a late-night Google session. Initially, I skimmed through the songs without much thought until one song, titled “Setengah Lima” (direct translation: Half-Past Four / 4:30), paused my casual browsing. The opening lines of the song went like this:

Suara Bisikan “hai” menjalar (The sound of a whisper “hello” spreads)
Mengikis bunga layu (Eroding the withered flowers)
Sampai aku akhirnya merasakan (until I finally feel)
Mati suri di taman (In a deep trance in the garden)
Mati suri di taman (In a deep trance in the garden)
Mati suri di taman (In a deep trance in the garden)

There was something that a little bit different about these lyrcis — the choice of words, the theme. It was unlike anything typical; it intrigued me, making me wonder, how do they sing these words in the song?

It was months later when I finally heard “Setengah Lima” played. The song was as unique as its lyrics had promised, and it got me instantly hooked. From then on, Sore’s albums became a staple in my playlist, even until today they are becoming a consistent top artist in my Spotify Wrapped each year.

Naturally, I eagerly looked up to their tour schedules, hoping they’d visit my city. But, unlucky for me, they just announced an indefinite hiatus just as my interest peaked. Over the next few years, while news that some members already left the band in the middle of the hiatus period was heard, I held on to the hope of catching them live.

In 2015, Sore made a comeback with the remaining members, created a new album. By then, I was already caught up with work schedule, I was not watching concert as often as before. Furthermore, their appearances became even rarer, slipping through my fingers each time an opportunity seemed to arise.

Fast forward to 2024, I received the sad news that their lead vocalist had passed away. The chance to see them perform live — one of a wishlist I had for years — might never come to fruition.

Yet, the meaning of “Setengah Lima” remains a mysterious to me. To this day, I don’t even know the true intention behind the song, and frankly, I prefer it that way. The articles on the internet offers multiple interpretations: a romantic encounter, a cinematic scene when man meeting woman for the first time, or even a metaphorical reference to smoking marijuana at 4:20, humorously close to the song’s title.

There will be multiple interpretation about this song and all of those are valid. For me, the song will always be about experience of slowly dawning realization or emotion. A metaphor for a transformative or introspective experience.

While I might never have the chance to experience Sore live, their music continues to accompany me in my daily activities, proving that sometimes, the songs we love become more than just melodies; they are the background scores to our daily lives, shaping our narratives and enriching our personal stories.

--

--