The People We Meet

Selvi M
Journal Kita
2 min readSep 23, 2024

--

Hello and goodbye!

Photo by The Ian on Unsplash

I once went to a traditional market to pick up some groceries and found myself in front of a fish seller. There were so many types of fish, but one caught my eye. The Nila fish looked super fresh! I asked the seller for the price of 1 kg of Nila and decided to buy it.

While waiting for him to pack my fish, a woman stopped beside me, checking out some Goldfish. She asked the seller if he had any smaller ones since all the fish seemed to weigh around 1–2 kg. I smiled at her and said, “You’re looking for something around 0.5 kg, right?”

She nodded and said, “Yeah, but there’s nothing here! These are too big for two people at home. It would be amazing cooked as Arsik, but it’s not in my budget.” (Arsik is a typical Batak dish.)
I agree. Goldfish is perfect for that! We shared a quick laugh before she went off to find another seller. At that moment, we were connected and then went on our way.

The story shows me that we never know who we’ll meet or who might say hello today and goodbye tomorrow. Think about everyone around you or those you’ve met recently. It’s surprising how people can pop into our lives and then leave!

I never thought about how the people I meet now. Friends, colleagues, and neighbors would become a part of my life. It’s funny how that works. Then, I never expected that the people I used to be close with and saw all the time would fade away.

Life takes us in different directions, right?

But I know all those people, moments, and different stories show that life keeps moving. We can’t hold onto a moment or expect people to stay with us forever. As long as we’re alive, people will always come and go.

--

--