To be Pretty and Loved by Many

adorasisy
3 min read1 day ago

--

Pict from Pinterest

I always wanted to be pretty and loved by many. Growing up, I often felt that my worth was tied to having flawless skin and certain physical features to be deemed “interesting” by others. Lacking these qualities seemed to consign one to the shadows; not being seen as beautiful made us unseen and unnoticed. People often say to be treated normally, you must have “beauty privilege.”

The term “beauty privilege” describes the advantages people gain by conforming to specific societal beauty norms. Personally, I’ve often felt self-conscious about my acne, asymmetrical face, eye shape, and other aspects of my physical appearance. It’s frustrating to feel judged by these arbitrary standards, leaving me to wonder if conforming to society’s definition of beauty would make me more lovable.

Acne is a common occurrence that can affect anyone, just like bruises and scars, which are often unwanted but can happen to everyone. Similarly, there’s no reason to feel ashamed of the physical features and skin color one is naturally born with.

Ironically, falling short of these standards can lead to being treated less favorably by society, sometimes making us feel unwanted. These unrealistic ideals of perfection pressure us to hide our natural features and project an image of flawlessness.

Some people might perceive me as more attractive if I didn’t have acne or bruises and scars disrupting my smooth skin. But I can’t help but wonder, am I being judged solely on my appearance? Am I any less myself because I have acne? Does it make me less kind? Am I undeserving of love? Does it diminish my humanity? But then again, why should it matter?

I believe we all have our own unique features — whether it’s a birthmark, a scar, or a blemish — and yet, we’re often expected to hide them and conform to societal beauty standards. People might label them as imperfections. But aren’t these so-called imperfections what make us human?

I was once told that my bruises and scars don’t define my worth or attractiveness, and that they can even add to my unique charm. This made me realize that my body is still beautiful and that beauty isn’t solely about physical appearance.

I have come to love myself and those who love me still see my beauty. That’s enough. That is what’s most important. Regardless of others’ perceptions, I am so much more than meets the eye.

You don’t have to be pretty like others. You can be pretty like you. The pretty mar, the pretty you; every part of yourself is also beauty.

Thank you for reading! If you’d like to stay updated with my latest writings, don’t forget to subscribe to get notifications every time I post. Feel free to contact me at writebyadorasisy@gmail.com for any inquiries or to commission a piece. If you enjoyed my work and want to show some support, you can buy me a flower 🌻: https://buymeacoffee.com/adorasisy.

--

--