there is light at the end of the tunnel

Hilal
Journal Kita
3 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Photo by B’s Code on Pinterest

The idea of a race against time,

Where every day we wake up and feel like we’re rushed from one thing to another, trying to achieve this and achieve that.

A great level of stress sneaks in, especially when the efforts and plans you put forward are completely disrupted by something out of your control.

Yes, it is normal, we are human anyway. we have always been craving for something. now let’s talk about

In your 20s…

I want to tell you a story of mine recently, which is quite common, especially among young people who have big dreams in their 20s. They say that your 20s is the best decade of your life, and I might agree with that, but it is also the most confusing.

It is the time when you have endless career opportunities but none of them feel quite right for you.

It is the time when you can impulsively decide to wander the earth without any responsibility but have no money on you.

It is the time when you look up at yourself in the mirror, young, with hope and yet you question whether you really know who you are at your core.

It feels quite fun in the beginning but after you have been through time with no end and no direction, then you start asking… Is it there yet?

the fear of missing out, the peer pressure, and the comparison to others which could be seen as clear as glass in this era, finally beat you up and rent-free in your mind.

This makes you want to achieve your goals immediately so that every day you ask God

“O Allah, is it there yet?“

There was one moment of realization when a powerful dua came across my attention, which such a slap in the face. The dua says as follows:

اللَّهُمَّ رَضِّنِي بِقَضَائِكَ وَبَارِكْ لِي فِي قَدَرِكَ حَتَّى لَا أُحِبَّ تَعْجِيلَ شَيْءٍ أَخَّرْتَهُ وَلَا تَأْخِيرَ شَيْءٍ عَجَّلْتَهُ

“O Allah, let me be pleased with what has been decreed for me, and bless me in the decree that is to come, so that I would not love to hurry what has been delayed, nor delay what has been hurried.”

You may wonder why is this such a slap in the face for me? Just pay attention to the bold sentence, which is actually implies “Ok dear me, you may have always trusted in Allah’s plan but have you ever trusted in Allah’s timing?”

This leads me to internalize my new mindset that I constantly reminding on when I face my vulnerable version of myself. Which is…

“The delay that God gives to us at times is the greatest design for our lives.”

so don’t just submit yourself to Allah’s plan, submit yourself to Allah’s timing

always believe that there is light at the end of the tunnel

— Hilal

--

--