Unsent Letters: Forgiving

To the person who hurt or was hurt.

alia
Journal Kita
Published in
2 min readJun 2, 2024

--

When I Fly Towards You (2023)

There’s a time when we got wound in our heart, whether it’s caused by ourselves or others. To heal from the wound, we’ll need time. Maybe, to heal, it will take a day, a week, a month, a year, a decade, or even a longer time. Knowing that we need time to heal, of course we need a longer time to forgive.

To forgive someone is to accept the things that they’ve done before, and it won’t be easy. After everything that I’ve been through, after being hurt that much, how could I forgive them easily? I thought that maybe I shouldn’t forgive them, that I could just cut them off and leave those feelings behind. Perhaps, I was wrong.

To forgive someone is to make peace with ourselves. Sometimes, when I think of the wound they left in me, I was mad, insanely mad. However, I think about it again and again, and then I ask myself, “Why do I feel mad about this? Why is this feelings keep lingering on my mind?” but then I can easily answer it myself, I’m not at peace with myself. I realize that we have to forgive ourselves to be at peace with ourselves, afterwards, maybe, we can forgive others. You’re the one who has been and will always be there for yourself, why would you be so cruel to yourself?

Forgive, a word that sounds like a phase or even sounds weird. A phase after we accept something as it is, and it’s weird because sometimes we can do it easily and sometimes it would be so hard to do it. Nevertheless, we’re not only hurting, but sometimes we also “hurt” others too, intentional or unintentional. Talking about the word “forgive,” have you ask forgiveness from the person that you once hurt?

At the end of the day, I think forgiveness is valuable. After passing some phases, we can forgive someone; and after realizing our mistakes, we can ask for forgiveness. Don’t forget to forgive yourself and others for the peace of your mind, and don’t forget to ask forgiveness from the person you once hurt, even if it’s just the word “sorry,” maybe that simple word is what they want to hear from you right now.

Sincerely, Alia.

--

--

alia
Journal Kita

Person who's trying to learn about how the world works and wanted to share whatever's on her mind through words.