Misogyny: A Manifesto

By Noelle Davis

Artist Statement:

Julia Serano is a trans/bi activist who wrote the “Trans Manifesto.” They talked about how transgender individuals live at the intersection of transphobia, cissexism, and misogyny. The dehumanization of transwomen has been a fundamental problem within society. On top of already being in a marginalized group and within the sexual minority, transgender women expressing femininity is, unfortunately, another reason for misogynists to discriminate against and oppress these individuals. By identifying as transwomen, these individuals are reminded that males and masculinity are superior to women and femininity. This point brings me to existential theorist Simone de Beauvoir. She wrote “The Second Sex” and created the idea of the other, where men are essential, and women are considered “the other” and inessential.

The drawing itself is a window, representing how I view or look at misogyny from my identity. The bottom part of the window illustrates that transwomen endure the harmful effects of misogyny when expressing femininity but simultaneously represents that I can only look at their experiences. I can empathize and listen too. The lightly shaded black curtains around the blue and pink letters are a metaphor stating that I do not know what it is like to be a transgender woman and live a life where misogyny occurs. The word “misogyny” spelled across the window takes up space in the top half, representing the experiences I have lived, and in the bottom half, which represents the fact that trans women also endure misogyny. Within each letter is a word that correlates to the experiences of both identities related to misogyny. For example, in the letter “M” that is drawn in the top half of the picture, I wrote the word “more.” I wrote this word because through my lived experiences, when I have demonstrated my feminine side, men have wanted more of that and made me feel like the amount of femininity was not enough, coming across as demanding and ravenous. And in the bottom half of the picture, the letter “G” in misogyny is written. This letter is in the part of the window that represents how femininity is not tolerated when it comes to transwomen. In this letter, I wrote the word “gross.” I chose this word because society can often use derogatory or hurtful diction when they observe transwomen expressing femininity because, from a misogynist point of view, it cannot be tolerated when a transwoman demonstrates their femininity when it is already not valued by females. The flowers and hearts on the border represent that femininity should be celebrated.

My feminist manifesto portrays the effects of misogyny on cisgender and transgender women and how femininity is ridiculed. I identify as a cisgender woman and have endured the aftermath of misogyny and feel my way about it; it needs to be changed, not tolerated, and must be fought against. As I created my drawing, I became aware that I could not speak on behalf of transgender women’s misogynist experiences. This acknowledgment also highlights my privilege as a cisgender white woman. Although I have a close friend who is a transgender woman and have met transgender women in my lifetime, I cannot draw images that symbolize how transwomen have been made to feel due to misogyny and misogynist comments. Yet, I am aware that cis and transgender women who portray femininity and express their femininity endure disrespect and prejudice, which have something in common.

--

--