7 Lessons Besides French I Learned from My 111 Day Duolingo Streak

*Don’t worry, I did also learn some French

Krista Brown
Journal of Journeys

--

Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

It’s my eleventy-first day on Duolingo!

And despite the duolingo haters and the memes about the stalker owl, I actually really enjoy the app and how accessible it makes language learning.

In addition to learning French, I feel like it has shown me a few other life lessons, so here we go!

1. Stop overthinking and just get started

At the start of quarantine, I remember thinking “I should use this time to brush up on my French and learn some new vocab! Maybe by the time this month long stay-at-home order lifts, I can have a few new phrases under my belt.”

(Overly optimistic Krista of March 2020 had no idea we would be in lockdown for sooo much longer than a month. Disillusioned Krista of 2021 is coming to terms with the fact that this is just what life looks like from now on; we bake banana bread and wear masks when we step out our front door.)

But I over-thought it, worried it would be another “to-do” on my list, and didn’t start. I was stressed and it was another decision I couldn’t handle at the time.

--

--

Krista Brown
Journal of Journeys

Lover of music, culture, and dark chocolate. Observer and analyzer on this journey of life.