Keep kicking towards originality

Gled
Journal of Journeys
3 min readNov 29, 2021

--

Something beautiful will come out.

Photo by Landon Parenteau on Unsplash

I’m only 20 and as I recall that in 36 days this number rolls to 21 I’m freaked out. Time flies so fast. So fast that I hold my breath and ask myself: Am I spending my time as I should? Is this the right way of living life?

Lately, I’ve stopped asking the question. Do you know why? Because there’s no one who could give me that answer. There’s no exact answer other than the one I give myself.

As long as I push towards carving that original version of myself, that’s unique for the world, it’s the right path. This whole concept reminds me of that great sculpture of “Self-Made Man” and how much meaning it possesses.

Credit: Cnstatue

What is the right path anyway? Is there such thing as right or wrong? For whom is this to decide? Whom are we to ask about these limits?

Simple.

You Have the Answers

Yes, you do. We are just either too lazy, conditioned, or prideful to accept them. We know the answer to most things in the world. We just deny them.

How to eliminate hunger? All those who have should give.

How to live in peace? Love more.

How to be happy? Forget the past and future.

And the list goes on and on. We all have those answers. Depending on how you’ve lived so far, there’s a layer of dust upon them not allowing you to read them clearly whenever you need to.

Remove the dust out of those thoughts and you’ll see that it’s simpler than you thought. What’s stopping us? I mean, really, what’s stopping us?

Not Accepting the Answers

My writing skills aren’t yet at a satisfying level for me to treat topics with a level of tangibility that’s relatable by the most. Yet, I feared that this was true, but I didn't choose to accept it. Instead, I wrote less. I found a corner to hide.

The same thing goes for my discipline, level of spoken English, knowledge of geography and history, courage, self-expression, and math skills. “No, I’m good. I’ll work on these skills maybe a little bit later.”

And now? Now, I’ll rest a bit until later comes. So, I close my eyes and fall asleep. Lying that I’ll accept myself tomorrow, later. Killing all there is with the illusion of tomorrow. Covering the present moment with assumptions.

It’s about the time we get out of this trap we put ourselves in and face our truth. Saying “Yes, this is me, and I take full responsibility for myself now.”

Final Thoughts

That feeling of fear and regret for not performing at your best at first is nothing but proof of the thick veil hanging in front of your eyes.

As long as you sit back and fall asleep, you stop daring to find out what it feels like to be truly you. How will you know when you’re the original self?

The moment you do you, there are zero thoughts. There’s peace and the pure joy of existence. It’s you, walking on a path never walked before. Your path.

Psst! New to Medium? Join here to read all stories. Clicking through this link gives me a part of your membership at no extra cost to you.

--

--

Gled
Journal of Journeys

Expect weekly posts about freelancing, self-discovery, love, and anything inspiring. For more: https://linktr.ee/gled