Late Night Craving

A poem about my wife’s pregnancy cravings.

Brian Kurian
Journal of Journeys

--

Image by Shutterbug75 from Pixabay

Back hurting, a little weary
rain clouds moving in, it’s looking dreary,
hunger strikes her once again,
so I quickly set down my pen.

We climb into our car,
thankfully, didn’t have to drive far,
we pull into the Mcdonald’s drive-thru,
I knew what I had to do.

A quarter pounder with cheese, add bacon,
the sanity train has already left the station,
I order an Oreo Mcflurry,
the sugar rush helps ease my worry.

Pregnancy cravings have been happening for months now,
I’ve gained a few pounds, now you know how,
my wife is in month number nine,
she teases me about my growing waistline.

They say that couples gain weight together,
that's fine because these moments I treasure,
we’re both excited to meet our son,
next month, these cravings will be done.

Buy me a coffee or join my email list if you want to receive some free writing resources.

--

--