Moving to Colorado 1 Year Ago Didn’t Solve A Single Problem

Alec Zaffiro
Journal of Journeys
4 min readNov 9, 2023

--

courtesy Unsplash

9/28/22 9:20am

Realizing where I’m at. I have to see that my intimate relationship is most important. We are a unit, just scratching the surface of coexisting.

We can fight everyday for the rest of our lives probably.

Marriage and career. Don’t lose sight. You get nothing outside of those two things. Stop wasting money on materials. STOP.

Each day is an opportunity to seek God and your partner. You have to balance those. Each day is an invitation to explore. And live.

You are an individual with responsibility to your partner. You don’t get any redos. You don’t get to pick a different partner. This is it, so make the most of it.

Seek God. Trust in Him. Remember your vulnerability.

Do something noble or difficult. Be outside yourself. Read. Learn. Fill your mind with knowledge and wonder.

Text your friends and family. Remember your little brother. And older sister. Call more. Adventure. You have a partner to adventure with.

Center your mind and body. Fuel. Run. Meditate and pray to God.

I wrote this 3 weeks after moving to Colorado with Aja.

--

--

Alec Zaffiro
Journal of Journeys

I write to think and organize my ideas. I like psychology, philosophy, and self-improvement—em dashes are my specialty. Not an expert.*