My Life’s Version of Double Dutch Jump Rope

Stacy J. Belinsky
Journal of Journeys
3 min readJun 26, 2019

--

How I have recentered regular tasks and activities

Have you ever jumped rope? If so, what about Double Dutch jump rope?

View this video here for a fun explanation and history.

In Double Dutch jump rope, two people each hold one end of two different jump ropes. The ropes get turned in circles going in opposite directions. Then the goal of the jumper(s) in the middle is to keep up as each rope comes down.

The two holding the ropes begin to swing, and the jumper(s) time the entries or exits.

I started thinking about my schedule, then how I add things in with another person. We create a rhythm when we overlap and are in sync.

It reminded me of trying to jump rope.

What if the rhythm is off or keeps changing? It’s harder to stay in that middle if the turning is off.

As I have added other people into my life after only running on my schedule, it has pulled me. The rhythm that I wanted or thought I had, gets sidetracked.

I know I have been “off” when I forget to do things I do all the time. For example, my water bottle is ALWAYS with me. It’s like a habit, yet TWICE IN A ROW, the water bottle has been left at home.

--

--

Stacy J. Belinsky
Journal of Journeys

Working to make the world better through writing, psychology, & entrepreneurship; email list sign-up http://eepurl.com/gwLUqn