Never Be Afraid To Make Mistakes Again In Your Life

Mistakes are opportunities to learn

Esther George
Journal of Journeys

--

Photo by Rafael Barros from Pexels

You’ve messed up. You’ve failed. And long after the dust has settled, you still replay that incident in your head.

I shouldn’t have done that. It was my fault. I wish I knew better. I wish I could go back and relive that moment one more time. I would have done differently. Why did I do that? What was I thinking?

What if I tell you that it’s okay?

What if I tell you it’s not the end?

What if I tell you that you’re allowed to make mistakes and you have the permission to mess things up?

Making mistakes and dealing with them can be debilitating. It’s incredibly hard having to cope with the internal negative self-talk. You chastise yourself for not being more of something else. It’s like you’ve stepped into the quicksand that pulls you right under. The more you struggle, the deeper you sink into despair and frustration.

But wait. There’s something else. The good thing about mistakes is that you’re not alone. That sort of thing, whatever you’re fretting over, happens all the time. Everyone makes them. There’s just no point in allowing that event, which is over now, to suck all the joy out of your present moment.

--

--

Esther George
Journal of Journeys

Writer • Dreamer • Storyteller • She writes about discovering and living your best life now because life is truly what you make it.