Journal — January-April 2020

Jairam R Prabhu
Journal of Knowledge
11 min readMay 2, 2020

Hello guys, I am back with your favourite area- the Journal part, where I pin down my experiences, how all my days went and the lessons which I learned and which through sharing may help you. (The language used here is quite casual).

Last Journal stopped in December (Read here)

The year 2020 began with a bang, but my new year began with Data Communication Exam. The exam was fine that expected, but it had a lot of things to be learned byheart like FDM, TDM, CDMA, Switching etc. The final exam was Soft Computing, which was on 6th, but the excitement could not be stopped after 1st Jan. On 3rd Jan I came across the news of rising tensions between Iran and the USA. I wrote a blog on the same which got published on 12th. That incident brought somewhere close to a WW3 since the cold war.

After Soft Computing Exam, all of them were over and I had about a week more before S6 started. So being, the editor MUNner’s daily, had published two blogs one on Iran issue as I mentioned and other on Australian Bushfires written by Sangeeth S which began on 7th.

After a brisk weekend, the classes began on 13th. S6 seemed a bit lighter because we have subjects like Web and POM which are considered to be easy. While we have two extremely was subjects, Design and Analysis of Algorithms and Computer Networks. Despite classes starting just after exams didn’t make me happy, my mind was continuously drifting elsewhere. The bad news was wtr to labs, the tough network programming lab and microprocessor lab.

SB MUN (17–19)

This was the best thing which ever happened to me in the month of January. After one and half months of exam and boring classes, SB MUN was indeed a saviour. SB or St Berchmans College is a famous college in Changanassery Kottayam District. On 17th, from early morning I began my journey from Aluva Railway Station, along with Ananda Sai A in Trivandrum Mail. I realised that Sleeper charges skyrocketed. I paid 180 rs for the journey, while I remember just paying 140 for an ordinary journey till TVM. From Thripunithra, Hemanth joined us. After reaching there, we took accommodation provided by SB MUN. It was just Rs 300 including food, cheap after all. As usual, MEC MUNSOC had a collaboration with SB MUN. Harinarayanan Shaji and Rose were directors representing MEC.

At the inauguration, I met Kavith Viswanath buddy, Barath Arjun, Harinarayanan Shaji, Jugal O Jayan, Akhil Sreekumar, Joseph Jose, Safal, Anjana, Karthik Uday, Merlin and many others. Seeing most of them after quite some time. I was in the Press committee along with Akhil Sreekumar and Annamariakattampally. Reema madam was our head, she gave important instructions and assigned duties. It was my first time in IP, I was excited to bring out the journalist in me. I was given the CCC committee. In the committee, I also met Davis Jacob Thomas, Kavith’s best friend. Akhil helped me a lot, making me understand how IP works and on different types of reports.

The best part of SB MUN was the food and hospitality. For the first day, it was Shezhwan fried rice with Chilli Potato, one of the yummiest I ever had. Chilli potato looked to me at first like Friend Fries put in a Chinese gravy. For dinner, we had Porotta with Chilly Gobi. At evening, Barath, Karthik Uday, Hemanth, Ananda Sai, Rose, Snehal and me went on to roam in the town. We went to Desi Cuppa, I ordered Watermelon with Ice-cream which was tasty and cost only Rs 50. I had to write the event report late at night. CCC was highly boring on the first day, baring the awesome timeline prepared by EB.

Read my SB MUN CCC reports -

The second day, went on smooth, had fried rice and chilly gobi for lunch. In IP we are expected to note down all the points, made by delegates and report it. Also, I had to interview a controversial delegate. I interviewed the delegate of the UK, who claimed that “North Korea assassinated Sir Boris Johnson”. In the evening we had socials, meeting people, music, lighting, ambience, and finally dinner- Roti, Paneer and Mayonaisse. Back in my room, I had to submit two writeups- One Opinionated Article and other based on the interview. After submitting reports, I and my room-mates had very conversation midnight on MUNs in Kerala, MUNSocs and many peripheral topics. I helped Barath and Ananda Sai prepare their DR.

On the last day, we had an ethnic day where all delegates and OC members come in Ethnic dress, I wore a Red Kurtha with Dhoti. Had Porrota and Peas curry for Breakfast. I also had a brisk conversation with people from MACE delegation especially Jais Benny, prospective DSG of MACE MUN. As it was a Sunday, I had a family meetup, but I was unhappy I couldn’t attend it. For IP, it was a press conference. I had prepared questions which violated many of the delegates foreign policies as well as that they find difficult to answer. But given that CCC was highly dynamic, delegates violated their foreign policies too. There was not much left in the press conference as delegates just vaguely answered them. Thus because of that, we couldn't follow up or counter-question them. I prepared the final report and submitted it.

For lunch, we had traditional Kerala meals on the banana leaf. Post lunch Reema mam gave us general feedback and since there were over 20 reporters competition was high. I didn’t get any prize, neither did anyone from CCC. So it was obvious that CCC has fundamental flaws during Press Conference because, in other UN committees, journalists can quote UN resolution, news articles etc. Akhil Sreekumar got the best reporter from IP. Ananda Sai, Kavith, Davis, Barath Arjun got Special Mention. Noel and Snehal got Honourable Mention. It was really a successful venture for MUNSOC. Post the event we had a Group Photo session and later I left for Railway station as I didn’t have any time left. Since there were no trains, I went to KSRTC Bus Station to catch a bus. I got only a Palakkad bus, which didn’t go to Aluva. So, I got down in Perumbavoor at 10 pm and after waiting for some time got Aluva bus. In 15 mins, I reached home. In the bus Reema Mam, texted me saying that I had written good reports but missed out marks in the Press Conference.

Takeaways- After classes began, it was a great relief to be at SB MUN. Met new people, interacted with old friends and took away a lot of memories. SB MUN, being a maiden MUN set up high standards for a MUN in the state. It was really a commendable event put up by Martin-Rohith and team. Also, had a good experience of Food and Hospitality there.

It was my first time as an IP journalist. I had not expected much but I had worked a lot but again there are quite some things which I missed up. I really got a good understanding of IP and Journalism.

I was tired of going back to class just spend 3 hrs on classes and waste 2 hrs for Course Viva. Meanwhile, despite getting selected for IIMUN Kochi as EB in the first round, I didn't get into the final round. Rose, ASWIN SHANIL and Ema Arun, were present for IIMUN representing MECMUN. To dump my disappointment post-SB MUN and IIMUN, I got a news from Megha Mary Biju, when she contacted me on 26th with regards to hosting an IntraMUN in her college (MITS). I helped her a lot of giving tips, like which committee, the time required for a session etc.

On 25th, there was a special fest happening at the TD temple in Ernakulam, so I spent the whole day at Grandparents home. On 26th, Republic day family went to the ancestral home in Fort Kochi and returned on that day itself. On 29th, there was a ulsavam at ETD temple, so after class, I went to Ernakulam aunt’s home and maternal grandparents home.

In the weekend I got a call from Megha, saying that they have official permission for conducting IntraMUN there, and later she invited me to be the EB for the event as well. The MUN was decided to have a single committee UNHRC with the Refuge crisis as the topic. Meanwhile, MEC IntraMUN preparations began parallel with all these with Allen Joseph as the Sec-Gen, Alan Antony and Niranjana as Deputy Sec generals.

6th February was the first anniversary of MEC MUNSOC the club few of us started as I had mentioned before. We have a lot to speak about the success of our club. We are the first MUN soc in Kerala, we have the sole MUN blog, we are the first club in MEC to have a lot of social media handles including a telegram channel with 200+ followers. Our club is accredited with Millenium Fellowship 2019. We are the first Engg college in Kerala to host an IntraMUN.

Next week ie 7th and 8th February I got the opportunity to volunteer for IEEE’s MAGIC programme. The programme also included an overnight hackathon, a workshop, introductory session, ice breaker Session etc. The programme was well organised and it was really a new experience for me. I personally thank Anand Raj and Christina for the opportunity.

On 13th, 14th and 15th we had the Layatharang arts fest. I went to CUSAT Pragyan Quiz on 14th in connection with Science fest. I and Gayathri were the partners and we made it to the finals round luckily but we finished 5th only. Post that I went to college to see the arts and also attended sandwich-making contest by IEDC.

MITS MUN

15th was the most awaited day, cause I was invited to chair the MITS MUN committee. I also invited ASWIN SHANIL to accompany me as the vice-chair. I arrived at MITS early in the morning, the campus is magnificent, has good infrastructure. I was treated like a VIP there. I never felt that they were hosting a MUN for the first time. It was an awesome initiative and efforts taken by Megha Mary Biju. The delegates were cool too, we didn’t have to explain anything more than once. 16th was again hectic as we had a Decade quiz in collaboration with the TKM Quiz fraternity. I was selected to the finals, but I couldn’t attend it due to MEC IntraMUN.

Next week 21–23 was indeed a break. My cousins from Bangalore also visited us at home. I was also not so well on those days. I couldn’t do anything more on those days other than just publishing my MUNner’s daily article on MUN research. Just the next week we had internal exams as well as on that weekend post that we had planned the IntraMUN.

There was a surprise to everyone cause from now on the series exams will be out of 50 marks and the time will be 2 hours. This created a lot of confusion at first. A lot to study, as there were 3 modules for the exam. All exams were quite okay, and I felt 50 marks have made it more scoring. Finally, all exams were over and the very next day was intra-MUN, I was quite pumped up and all set for the event. I was 100% sure that the event would be a great experience.

IntraMUN

Literally speaking the two wonderful days I have spent in a MUN as far as committee productivity is concerned. I was in AIPPM, Sandra Sam and Anand Raj were my partners. It will be too harsh if I call them subordinates cause they worked a lot along with side me, cooperated well. We all combined our work, whether it was BG, crisis updates, marking, moderating etc. The topic was CAA-NPR-NRC. It is a quite technical topic but at the same time a lot of political points also available. Most of the delegates, even first-timers were awesome. This exactly reminded me about the IntraMUN 2019 with a lit AIPPM committee and an awesome set of delegates. We also had brought a gavel for controlling the noisy AIPPM committee. I also guest delegated for a few moments in the crisis committee as Saudi Arabia.

This time we had 5 committees, making it the largest IntraMUN. We had a very good Chief Guest- Sasi PM, CEO of IT parks, thus we had a very well organised programme. Lakshmi Sreekumar wrote a magnificent article on you we should be present for IntraMUN next year. That also would be my final IntraMUN and obviously my last MECMUN. I also met Abhishek Premnath and Aromal. Those two did a wonderful job in the committee.

Amidst all the fun and frolic, the bad news of COVID19 spreading in Kerala kept us at alert. I would really thank Allen Joseph, Niranjana, Adil Rafeek, Arjun and Alan Antony for really putting up an exemplary programme despite quite a lot of obstacles.

That evening, I went to my Maternal home in Ernakulam. I had quite a lot of shopping to do. Post-everything, we had dinner from Pai Brothers dosa restaurants will serve 100 of varieties of Dosa.

On Tuesday roughly two days post-IntraMUN while I was sitting in the Microprocessor lab simulating 8051 in software, the class got a message that all schools and colleges will be shut till 31 march. With joy, we returned back to our homes.

It was unfortunate that MACE MUN got postponed indefinitely, which I wanted to attend badly cause that is one of the best MUNs in Kerala.

Lockdown/self-quarantine days

Hit with assignments, and online work…I am quite happy sitting at home lazy, trying out online courses and watching Youtube videos and Movies. I also my hand in cooking, just because I can’t go out and eat. Also, you need to eat a variety of food, so it was a great experience for me.

Read my Quarantine diary in detail!

I also attended the V-MUN and later became the Vice-Chair for AMC E-MUN. Also became the editor in chief for TKM MUN. I’m really thankful to Nakul, Nebu Titus Thomas and Joseph Jose for inviting me in their MUNs.

More Online MUNs will come in May, so I will include them in subsequent blogs. I am also quite anxious on what will happen with my S6 and also quite worried about the people around. So please stay tuned.

Thank you so much readers, for bearing with me and my blogs every week.

Don’t waste you 50 claps, if you like this article please do clap for sure. Also, please follow my publication for continuous updates. Do give your valuable feedback and make sure you share this article if you like it. It is my habit to document moments of my life and not a show off.

.

.

.

If you are liking my blogs and in search of useful content keep following me. Do follow my new publication. You can drop in your feedback either in the comments sections or reach out to me on Social Media- FB Messenger| Instagram|Quora|YKA. For my old posts do scroll down my profile page. Thank you! for continuing to support me.

--

--

Jairam R Prabhu
Journal of Knowledge

Blogger|Podcaster|Student|Engineer|Content Writing. Writes on Science, Elections, Technology, Politics, International Relations|Runs Journal of Knowledge