Let’s remember when Robinson Cano signed a 10 year/$240 million contract with the Mariners, on this day in 2013 (December 13)

Chris Burlingame
Journal of Precipitation
2 min readDec 13, 2019
By EricEnfermero — Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=33737049

It sounded like a great deal at the time (and it mostly was, until the 2018 season), but the Mariners landed one of the most coveted free agents in baseball six years ago today.

From ESPN:

Robinson Cano seemed to be next in line as the player to wear pinstripes for his entire career, all set to follow the path laid before him by mentors named Jeter, Posada and Rivera.

And then the Seattle Mariners blew him away with an offer of financial and career security that the New York Yankees never came close to matching.

“I was looking for a contract where I would just be able to play and focus on the game and wouldn’t wonder when I’m 37, 38 would I have a job one day. Would I be able to play?” Cano said. “The one thing in Seattle is I get the chance. Am I going to keep working hard? Yes. Even harder? Yes. I’m going to do my best and play the same way I was playing in New York and go out there and do my business and win games.”

Cano never stopped smiling Thursday as he was introduced as the Mariners’ new All-Star second baseman. He had $240 million reasons to grin after signing a deal that tied for the fourth-largest in baseball history. He has security for the next 10 years, knowing that at age 31, he likely will never need to go through the process of seeking another contract.

Source:

--

--

Chris Burlingame
Journal of Precipitation

Seattleite, (mostly) retired arts/culture blogger. Come for the Seinfeld references, stay for the Producers references.