VR Diary: 6 x 9 Creates A Powerful, Realistic Experience

After watching the virtual reality story “6x9” by the Guardian, I found the most powerful part of the piece was the fact that I was in the prison cell alone. It was very different from other virtual reality pieces I have watched, because this was the first one where there were no other people in the experience. The writings on the wall were the weakest part of the piece because there were so many and they disappeared before I was able to read all of them. The writings were a good idea, but if there were less and they stayed on the wall long enough for me to read them, then it would have been more effective.

I feel this story was a unique approach to telling a story I was somewhat already familiar with. I learned a little more information than I had previously. Additionally, being trapped in the cell as though I was the prisoner made the story more powerful. I probably would have been more realistic with the storytelling techniques. For example, a person cannot float in the air, but we were able to float in the experience. I believe if I had not been lifted in the air, it would have been better. Otherwise, the storytelling was very good. The narrator told just enough information to move the piece along and the virtual reality aspects helped to fill in the rest of the story. Overall, I believe this was the best user experience because it felt authentic.

--

--