VR Diaries: ‘Zambia: Gift of Mobility’ a Strong Story with Perfect Camera Angles

The most powerful part of the virtual reality story “Zambia: Gift of Mobility” was when I saw the very first woman crawling on the ground. I did not know what was wrong with her and I wanted to know why she had to crawl. I had technical difficulties with my experience that did not allow me to hear the first half of the story. After re-watching the first part of the story with volume, I still feel that seeing the woman crawling on the ground had a profound effect on me. I felt as though I was watching a scene out of a horror movie.

What I remembered most from the story was the reporter explaining how people with no mobility had to crawl through feces, trash, and dirt just to get around. I could not even imagine having to walk among those items with my shoes on, but to crawl in them with bare legs and feet is horrendous. Overall, I felt the story was very good. I learned a lot about the company providing the essential tools, the people who would be using them, and the conditions they were accustomed to crawling in.

Technically, I thought the picture was a little fuzzy. I would have loved for the images to be clearer. However, I enjoyed how the producer and reporter let the visuals and characters tell the story. I thought the camera angles were perfect for this type of story. I also felt the flow of the story was well planned.

I had no idea about the people from Zambia who were immobile, so this video was able to shed some light on that subject for me. I enjoy learning about new things and I think that is what made the video more captivating. I would have loved to see the people using their new mobility machines more at the end. Besides my technical difficulties, I enjoyed this story and I would definitely tell other people I know about it.

--

--