Social Media Objectivity

sewellchris
Journalism and Society
2 min readApr 8, 2019

By Chris Sewell

Looking at this random disc, I think of its universal recognition, I start to even think about all the music that this disc holds. Who knows, it could be a blank disc. But it has by objectivity written on it and it is titled evening commute. therefore, something as to be on it, but I just cannot hear it. I totally agree with what is said about this CD and the kind of music that goes on it, however, there is nothing that really attracts me visually and that most likely would cause me to bypass this without taking a second to listen. The playlist of this disc would not be a choice for me on Spotify or Apple Play.

In the above Instagram post, the author thedevinebubble, claims that this stone helps us in understanding the balance of life and stabilizes emotions. Looking at the artifact I don’t necessarily see it, so I’m disagreeing, maybe this is because of how the object is held by hand alone. If this aqua fluorite sculpture was captured in a room with running water and relaxing music then I probably would start to feel the emotions and a sense of balance and fall asleep.

I can personally say that I agree with Gwen Moran’s tweet, where she later elaborated on in her article. Yes, we all have biases, but while reading the steps that uses objectivity as a guideline in her decision making, it came off to me as not really being objective, but more along the lines of a chronological business plan. Why, because the example that was given resulted in the lost of a million dollars due to failed consideration. While being objective is more focus on facts and fairness as a whole.

It is not quite clear what is the true purpose of this tweet, I think the tweet is meant to advertise or promote Math burch and katherine Furman’s new publication. Then after reading the contents of the tweet’s link, my interest in this publication was discourage, because the word objectivity doesn’t seem that exciting. Even though, I agree that you would want to be objective when making risky decisions that affects law and science, but as for objectivity being in a crisis, sound just a little too extreme.

The above tweet is very messy in my opinion, based on its short sentences with hashtags, it seems that PeteG didn’t like how the EVs feature turned out and he did a quick tweet about it. It is not very clear who PeterG is and his business with the EVs, however, I disagree with his hashtags. He should have just stated his opinion, short and simple, along with a link to reliable information about what he think was missing. That would make his tweet a bit more convincing.

--

--